2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
May 31st — September 10th, 2017

Cady Noland, Laurie Parsons, Félix González-Torres


After appearing on the New York art scene at the end of the 1980s, Cady Noland, Laurie Parsons and Félix González-Torres have driven the investigations conducted by the “Pictures Generation” towards a more explicitly political territory. By reusing forms from Minimal and Pop art, the three artists have been conducting an acerbic criticism of American ideology and its symbolic violence, questioning all over again the ambiguous relationships which have been formed between public and private spaces.

Between pictures and sculptures, Cady Noland’s screen-prints on aluminium bring out “heroes” and “martyrs” from recent history, as they have been presented by the mass media. Among them, Patty Hearst, the heiress of a press magnate, kidnapped by a group of extreme left-wing terrorists, who ended up adopting their cause, or Vince Foster, a White House advisor the reasons for whose suicide in 1993  remain unclear. A latent violence can also be seen in her tubular sculptures, evoking both urban furniture and the world of prisons, and her baskets of objects, as still-lifes of an American capitalism in which everything can be consumed, both merchandise and human beings.

In a similar rationale, the pile of “things” chosen by Laurie Parsons bear the stigmata of abandon  and of the erosion of time. The scraps constituting it have lost all their identity, use, or function. This entropic dimension is reminiscent of practices used by artists such as Robert Smithson; in the museum, these little urban wrecks take on a particular strength, savagely inviting the street into the home of culture.

Despite their minimalistic or conceptual contours, the works of Félix González-Torres are in fact invested with a great political and identitarian content, in a constant toing and froing between the public and intimate spheres. Thus, his portraits place on the same level an individual’s biography and the historical events they lived through. What’s more, the artist’s own life appears behind two light bulbs alluding to the death of his partner. In the end, it is the spectators themselves who are invited to participate directly in the work: they can in fact take away some of the parts of some of the pieces and, thus, contribute to their dissolution in the public space and their dissemination in the private sphere, even within their own bodies.












Félix González-Torres, Untitled (Portrait of Robert Vifian), 1993. View of the exhibition, MAMCO, 2017.

Félix González-Torres, Untitled (Welcome Back Heroes), 1991. View of the exhibition, MAMCO, 2017.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
31 mai — 10 septembre 2017

Cady Noland, Laurie Parsons, Félix González-Torres


Apparus sur la scène artistique new-yorkaise à la fin des années 1980, Cady Noland, Laurie Parsons et Félix González-Torres portent les investigations menées par la « Pictures Generation » sur un terrain plus explicitement politique. Par le réemploi de formes issues de l’art minimal et du Pop, les trois artistes mènent une critique acerbe de l’idéologie américaine et de sa violence symbolique, interrogeant à nouveaux frais les relations ambiguës qui se nouent entre espace public et privé.

Entre images et sculptures, les sérigraphies sur aluminium de Cady Noland font apparaître des héros et martyrs de l’histoire récente, tels qu’ils furent mis en scène par les médias de masse. Parmi eux, Patty Hearst, héritière d’un magnat de la presse, enlevée par un groupe terroriste d’extrême-gauche dont elle finira par épouser la cause, ou Vince Foster, conseiller à la maison blanche dont les raisons du suicide en 1993 restent troubles. Une violence latente se perçoit également dans ses sculptures tubulaires, qui évoquent autant le mobilier urbain que l’univers carcéral, et dans ses paniers d’objets, natures mortes d’un capitalisme à l’américaine où tout peut se consommer, les marchandises comme les êtres humains.

Dans une logique similaire, les amas de « choses » choisies par Laurie Parsons portent les stigmates de l’abandon et de l’érosion du temps. Les rebuts qui les composent ont perdu toute identité, tout usage, toute fonction. Une dimension entropique qui n’est pas sans évoquer des pratiques comme celles de Robert Smithson. Ces petits naufrages urbains prennent dans le musée une force particulière, invitant sauvagement la rue dans le réceptacle de la culture.

Prenant les contours d’œuvres minimalistes ou conceptuelles, les œuvres de Félix González-Torres sont en réalité investies d’un fort contenu politique et identitaire, dans un va-et-vient permanent entre sphère publique et intime. Ainsi ses portraits mettent sur le même plan la biographie d’un individu et les évènements historiques dont il est contemporain. Ailleurs, la propre vie de l’artiste surgit derrière deux ampoules qui renvoient à la mort de son compagnon. C’est, enfin, le spectateur lui-même qui est invité à prendre part directement à l’œuvre : il peut en effet emporter certains éléments des pièces et participer, ainsi, à leur dissolution dans l’espace public et leur dissémination dans la sphère intime, voire dans son propre corps.












Félix González-Torres, Untitled (Portrait of Robert Vifian), 1993. Vue de l’exposition, MAMCO, 2017.

Félix González-Torres, Untitled (Welcome Back Heroes), 1991. Vue de l’exposition, MAMCO, 2017.