2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / January 30, 2017—

The Apartment


Artists and Photographs

In the 1960s, American Conceptual artists created books in which the photographic reproductions in offset prints on common paper are devoid of the artistic qualities usually characterizing art photography. In 1970, seven years after the publication of Twentysix Gasoline Stations, Ed Ruscha’s founding book, gallerist Marian Goodman published Artists and Photographs which bears witness to the development of these experiments. This box set, now historic, serves as a point of departure for a presentation made up of the most emblematic artists’ books from that period, kindly loaned by the Print Room of the Musées d’art et d’histoire in Geneva or belonging to the MAMCO’s collections.

Artists and Photographs, whose box was designed by Dan Graham, gathers books and print contributions (leaflets, booklets, objects, envelops) by nineteen artists represented by gallery Marian Goodman. Although 1,000 copies were initially printed, only 200 were finished. The box includes an introduction written by Lawrence Alloway in which the British art critic observes that all the photographs manifest a refusal of expertise and “glamour.” The break with previous practices is important as it is not anymore about distributing reproductions of works, but works themselves in a printed form.

Artists and Photographs is not only manifest of artists’ interest for the industrial photographic reproduction technique, but also shows how much the artist’s book has rapidly spread, helped by utopias of art’s democratization. Artists appreciate the advantages of this object whose stages of fabrication they can control and whose reproducibility and trade circuits allow for a wider and more diversified audience.

In parallel with this publication, a long-term loan at MAMCO, emblematic publications by Peter Downsbrough, Douglas Huebler, Hamish Fulton, Richard Long, Allen Ruppersberg and, of course, Ed Ruscha, are being exhibited; works which have redefined the fields of photography, books, and art, as much by their formal radicalness as by the new ideology they contain.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / 30 janvier 2017 —

L'Appartement


Artists and Photographs

Dans les années 1960, les artistes conceptuels américains vont créer des livres dont les reproductions photographiques en impression offset sur  papier commun sont dénuées des qualités artistiques qui identifient traditionnellement la photographie d’art. En 1970, sept ans après la parution de Twentysix Gasoline Stations l’ouvrage fondateur d’Ed Ruscha, la galeriste Marian Goodman édite Artists and Photographs qui témoigne du développement de ces expérimentations. Ce coffret, désormais historique, sert de point de départ à une présentation composée des livres d’artistes les plus emblématiques de l’époque, aimablement prêtés par le Cabinet d’arts graphiques de Genève ou appartenant aux collections du MAMCO.

L’édition Artists and Photographs, dont la boîte fut conçue par Dan Graham, rassemble les livres et les contributions imprimées (dépliants, brochures, objets, enveloppes) de dix-neuf artistes représentés par la galerie Marian Goodman. Si le tirage initial prévoyait 1’000 exemplaires, 200 seulement furent assemblés. La boîte inclut un texte de présentation de Lawrence Alloway où le critique d’art anglais note que toutes les photographies manifestent un refus de l’expertise et du « glamour ». La rupture est importante puisqu’il ne s’agit plus de diffuser des reproductions d’œuvres, mais les œuvres elles-mêmes, sous une forme imprimée.

Artists and Photographs témoigne non seulement de l’intérêt partagé des artistes pour la reproduction photographique technique et industrielle mais montre également combien le livre d’artiste s’est rapidement répandu, porté par les utopies de démocratisation de l’art. Les artistes apprécient les avantages de cet objet dont ils maîtrisent toutes les étapes de fabrication et dont la reproductibilité et les circuits de commercialisation permettent une adresse plus large et plus diversifiée.

En dialogue avec cette édition, déposée au MAMCO par un collectionneur privé, l’exposition présente les publications emblématiques de Peter Downsbrough, Douglas Huebler, Hamish Fulton, Richard Long, Allen Ruppersberg et, bien sûr, Ed Ruscha. Des œuvres qui vont redéfinir les champs de la photographie, du livre et de l’art autant par leur radicalité formelle que par l’idéologie nouvelle qu’elles contiennent.