2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / January 30, 2017—

Royden Rabinowitch


Royden Rabinowitch (b. 1943, Toronto) is a main figure from the renewal of post-Minimalist sculpture. His work, based on the explicit distinction made by Poincaré between the abstract (geometrical and continuous) space and that of the ordinary experience (discontinuous and localized), questions the notion of space. He works in series, giving priority to mechanically bent steel plates, and to wooden sculptures whose elements are doubly curved like barrels. Interested in the “anthropomorphic bodies” of David Smith, Rabinowitch also discovered, at the beginning of the 1960s, works by Donald Judd and Anthony Caro. Whereas to him, Judd and Caro respectively positioned their sculptures in relation to architecture and landscape, Rabinowitch created sculptures that enter into dialogue with the space of the body.

1st Address to “LeNez” (C): Central Order of Things and Events—1st Judgement on the Basis of Abstract Thinking (1962) is made up of a truncated cone partially closed inside from which is hung a weight—an object chosen for its metaphorical potential which also refers to the lengthening of the nose. The work is thought as a series of operations; coiling of the cone, then hanging of the weight. It belongs to an ensemble of five works all referring to Alberto Giacometti’s oeuvre and to two sculptures by Boccioni: Development of a Bottle in Space and Unique Forms of Continuity in Space.

Grease Cone (1965)  results from a series of operations: the coiling of the cone and the greasing of the surface which, as it cannot be spread evenly, makes the cone asymmetrical. The grease applied on the metal hides the underlying material and modifies the aspect of the sculpture.

Karakorum (1968–1971), name of the city  founded by Genghis Khan to unify the vanquished tribes, aims at summing up his  previous works in one construction. The artist proceeds to a synthesis through folding and stratification of previous forms, which herald the Handed Manifold (starting in 1972), a series of flat sculptures visible from multiple locations.

Although Royden Rabinowitch’s complex process alienates him from the preoccupations of contemporary Minimalist artists, the materials used and the stripped-down geometrical forms confer his  oeuvre a place within the emblematic experimentations of the 1960s—1970s.

The works presented here, and lent to MAMCO since its opening, were donated to the museum in 2016 by the collector who had gathered them.







Views of the exhibition, MAMCO coll., 2017.
Photos: Annik Wetter—MAMCO, Geneva.

2_1 MAMCO 2_1 AGENDA PRESSE CHRONIQUES MISCELLANEES RADIO FILMS
4_1 EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIONS ARTISTES PUBLIC EDITIONS MUSEE INFORMATIONS

 

COLLECTIONS_PRESENTATION COLLECTIONS_ARCHIVES
A B C D E F G H i J K L M N O P q R S T u V W x y Z
    
français  I  english
Collections / 30 janvier 2017 —

Royden Rabinowitch


Royden Rabinowitch (né en 1943 à Toronto) est un acteur du renouveau de la sculpture post-minimaliste. Son œuvre, dont le développement s’appuie sur la distinction explicitée par Poincaré entre l’espace abstrait (géométrique et continu) et celui de l’expérience ordinaire (discontinu et localisé), interroge la notion d’espace. Il travaille par séries, privilégiant la tôle d’acier pliée mécaniquement et les sculptures de bois dont les éléments reprennent la double courbure des tonneaux. Intéressé par les « corps anthropomorphiques » de David Smith, Rabinowitch découvre au début des années 1960 les œuvres de Donald Judd et d’Anthony Caro. Là où Judd et Caro positionnent, selon lui, leurs sculptures dans un rapport à l’architecture (Judd) et au paysage (Caro), Rabinowitch crée des sculptures en dialogue avec l’espace du corps.

1st Address to « LeNez » (C) : Central Order of Things and Events — 1st Judgment on the Basis of Abstract Thinking (1962)  est composé d’un cône tronqué partiellement refermé à l’intérieur duquel est suspendu un poids (objet choisi pour sa capacité métaphorique, il évoque l’allongement du nez). L’œuvre est conçue comme une suite d’opérations : enroulement du cône et accrochage du poids. Elle appartient à un ensemble de cinq propositions qui se réfèrent à l’œuvre d’Alberto Giacometti ainsi qu’à deux sculptures de Boccioni : Développement d’une bouteille dans l’espace et Formes uniques de continuité dans l’espace.

Cône de graisse (1965)  procède aussi d’une suite d’opérations : l’enroulement du cône et le graissage de la surface qui, ne pouvant être fait de façon égale, rend le cône asymétrique. La graisse appliquée sur le métal masque le matériau sous-jacent et modifie l’aspect de la sculpture.

Karakorum (1968-1971), qui tire son nom de la cité fondée par Gengis Khan pour unifier les tribus vaincues, vise à synthétiser en une seule construction les travaux antérieurs. L’artiste opère ainsi une mise à plat, par stratification et pliage des formes précédentes, qui annonce les Handed Manifold (dès 1972), suite de sculptures plates visibles depuis des emplacements multiples.

Si le mode opératoire complexe mis en jeu par Royden Rabinowitch l’éloigne des préoccupations des artistes minimalistes qui lui sont contemporains, les matériaux utilisés et les formes géométriques épurées conservent à cette œuvre sa place au sein des expérimentations emblématiques des décennies 1960-1970.

Les œuvres présentées ici, mises en dépôt au MAMCO lors de son ouverture, ont été offertes au musée en 2016 par le collectionneur qui les avait réunies.







Vues partielles de l’exposition, coll. MAMCO.
Photos : Annik Wetter — MAMCO, Genève.