MAMCO Journal

MAMCO provides a narrative, extended over a fairly short period (from the 1960s to now), so as to give back an historical syntax to the works it presents. For each sequence, there is a corresponding issue or theoretical question which the museum, as a laboratory for the collective writing of history, aims to explore and then reveal to the public the current state of its research. MAMCO Journal aims at presenting the topics we have selected through the year, the concepts that were elaborated during the preparation of the exhibitions, and the results that have (or have not) been presented to the public. It is published twice a year and is available here in a PDF format to download. To freely receive the printed version, please contact chloe.gouedard(at)mamco.ch.

N°8

COVID-19 is not just a health crisis. By virtue of curfews, travel authorizations, the return of national borders in Europe, an increased acceptance of tracing, a media landscape that seems to speak with a single voice, heightened inequalities and increased isolation for society’s most vulnerable members, the pandemic has weakened social ties and undermined the foundations of the Western model of democratic society. 

The truth is that this model had already been under attack in recent decades by what Shoshana Zuboff has termed “surveillance capitalism.” Some of the key changes brought about by this new economic model, which mines human practices and actions, include the harvesting and marketing of personal data, the use of predictive algorithms and efforts to influence people’s behavior.

Artists first turned their attention to electronic surveillance in the 1980s, a time when it was limited to analog devices. By recreating CCTV installations and reflecting on the nature of images that are recorded, captured and appropriated, Julia Scher (b. 1954) exposed their ubiquity. Her installations, performances, and sculptures address issues of power and the dynamics of social control in the public sphere. Before these themes were made popular by reality shows such as Big Brother and films like The Truman Show, Scher conjured up dystopian narratives about pervasive surveillance within the walls of a museum or art gallery.

For artists from “Eastern Bloc” countries, the entire public space was under “state-controlled” surveillance in the 1960s and 1970s. It was at that same time that, as Dan Graham points out, such surveillance was being privatized in the West. To “perform” under such conditions was a risky undertaking, and artists thwarted surveillance by opting for inconspicuous, concealed practices, or by resorting to private or abandoned spaces. 

Before electronic technology came to the fore, devices such as the Panopticon, which Michel Foucault analyzed in 1975, held out similar promises to a society eager to expand its control: an ability to see everything without being seen, or “to impose a particular conduct on a particular human multiplicity,” to use Gilles Deleuze’s terms.

Tony Conrad’s installation Panopticon (1988) explicitly brought these reflections to bear on the surveillance typologies of his time. Throughout his remarkable career as a musician, artist, filmmaker, activist, and educator, Conrad (1940–2016) consistently used his chosen forms of expression to highlight systemic relationships to power. Whereas his acclaimed film The Flicker (1966) offered a “stroboscopic” attack on both cinema and its audience, pieces such as Studio of the Streets (1991–1993) and WiP (2013) point out the appropriation of public speech by the media and the control that the prison system exerts over the human body.

These artists and these works, to which we could (or would have liked to) add Harun Farocki’s prison images (Gefängnisbilder, 2000), Gretchen Bender’s depictions of the seductive impact of television images (Total Recall, 1987), and Hito Steyerl’s reflections on techniques for becoming invisible to the electronic universe (How Not To Be Seen, 2013), analyze or uncover the mechanics of surveillance and control that are at work in our societies. But they also point to forms of resistance similar to what Michel de Certeau grouped together under the term “poaching”: trickery, escapes, and shortcuts that enable us to re-invent everyday life and spaces where we can be free.

MAMCO’s fall 2021 exhibition schedule, which includes a Tony Conrad retrospective, an installation by Julia Scher, and the group exhibition “Performance and Surveillance,” aims to revisit these reflections, all of which predicted that the 21st century would be one of total surveillance and the mapping, not of the world, but of human behavior.


N°7


Since March 2020, the COVID-19 crisis and the measures aimed at combating it have profoundly affected MAMCO’s programming and operations. For months, we were prevented from carrying out our main mission of receiving the public. Even now, our planned activities are in constant flux. And going forward, we will have to rethink how we work, as societal changes force us to shift our priorities.

From the start, we aimed to honor our commitments to our artists, employees, and partners. We thus postponed projects until the second half of 2021 and the first half of 2022. 

Our next step was to focus our efforts on our permanent collection. After completing a full inventory in 2019, we are now physically checking the collection and putting it online. Since July 2020, half of these works have been available to view on our website, and we will continue adding more each month. 

From January 2021 onward, we will invite the public to rediscover this collection in the form of a physical “inventory” by all of MAMCO’s curators, using a plural methodology that reflects the spirit in which the collection was assembled. 

The exhibition will feature works not often shown since being acquired by MAMCO, as well as some that have always been an important part of our visitors’ experience. The displays will be organized both historically and thematically and interspersed with galleries dedicated to individual artists.

The aim of this exhibition is to reaffirm MAMCO’s role in creating a Swiss artistic heritage and give the public a chance to (re)discover the artistic movements of the second half of the 20th century. Ranging from Minimalism and Conceptual art to Fluxus, from Body art to Appropriation art in the 1970s and 1980s, and from the legacy of abstraction to the resurgence of figurative art in recent decades, this historical overview also revisits issues such as the role of theatricality in the visual arts, how artists have explored architecture and urban spaces since the 1960s, and the “liquefaction” of images in the early 21st century.


MAMCO Journal N°7

MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk

MAMCO Journal

Le MAMCO propose, par un récit se déroulant sur une temporalité assez courte (de la décennie 1960 à nos jours), de redonner une syntaxe historique aux œuvres présentées. A chaque séquence d’expositions correspond ainsi une problématique ou une question théorique que le musée, en tant que laboratoire d’écriture collective de l’histoire, s’attache à explorer et dont il présente au public l’état de sa recherche. Le MAMCO Journal entend restituer les sujets de réflexion que nous nous sommes donnés, les concepts élaborés lors de la préparation des expositions et les résultats présentés (ou non) au public. Il est édité semestriellement et est disponible ici en format numérique. Pour le recevoir à votre domicile, contactez chloe.gouedard(at)mamco.ch.

N°8

Couvre-feux, autorisations de déplacement, rétablissement des frontières nationales en Europe, normalisation du traçage des personnes, champ médiatique univoque, accroissement des inégalités et de l’isolement des plus fragiles : la Covid-19 s’est aussi attaquée à notre vivre-ensemble et aux fondations du modèle occidental de société démocratique.

En réalité, ce modèle était déjà fragilisé depuis plusieurs décennies par ce que Shoshana Zuboff a nommé le « capitalisme de surveillance » : captation et commercialisation des données personnelles, construction d’algorithmes prédictifs et modification des comportements, telles sont les grandes lignes de l’évolution de cette nouvelle économie reposant sur l’exploitation des pratiques et des comportements humains. 

Les années 1980 marquent le premier moment d’une réflexion artistique autour de la surveillance électronique, alors limitée à des appareils physiques. En simulant des installations de télésurveillance en réseau, en revenant sur la nature de ces images captées, saisies, appropriées, Julia Scher (*1954) révèle l’importance qu’elles ont prise dans notre environnement. Ses installations, ses performances et ses sculptures interrogent les questions de pouvoir et les dynamiques du contrôle social dans l’espace public. Avant que ces problématiques ne soient popularisées par des émissions comme Big Brother ou des films comme The Truman Show, Scher a fait apparaître un certain nombre de scénarii dystopiques liés à la surveillance ubiquitaire au sein du musée ou de la galerie d’art.

Dans les années 1960-1970, pour des artistes de l’ancien « bloc de l’Est », c’est tout l’espace public qui est placé sous surveillance, « étatisé » au moment même où, comme le révèle Dan Graham, il est, à l’Ouest, privatisé. « Performer » dans ce contexte, c’est déjà prendre des risques, c’est déjouer une surveillance humaine en choisissant des formes d’intervention discrètes, dissimulées, ou bien en se retranchant dans des lieux privés ou déserts. 

Avant l’apparition des outils électroniques, des dispositifs tels que le panoptique, analysé par Michel Foucault en 1975, avaient offert les mêmes promesses à une société désireuse d’étendre son contrôle : celles de tout voir sans être vu, « d’imposer une conduite quelconque à une multiplicité humaine quelconque », pour reprendre les termes de Gilles Deleuze.

L’installation Panopticon (1988) de Tony Conrad fait explicitement résonner ces réflexions avec les typologies de surveillance de son époque. Au fil de sa singulière carrière de musicien, d’artiste, de réalisateur, d’activiste et de pédagogue, Conrad (1940-2016) n’a cessé de pointer les relations systémiques au pouvoir qu’entretiennent les formes qu’il investit. Si son célèbre film The Flicker (1966) est une attaque « stroboscopique » du cinéma et de son public, des installations telles que Studio of the Streets (1991-1993) ou WiP (2013) pointent la confiscation de la parole publique par les médias et le contrôle exercé sur les corps par le système pénitentiaire.

Ces artistes et ces œuvres, auxquels nous aurions pu (ou voulu) ajouter les « images de prison » (Gefängnisbilder, 2000) de Harun Farocki, les démonstrations de séduction des images télévisuelles de Gretchen Bender (Total Recall, 1987) ou les réflexions de Hito Steyerl sur les techniques d’invisibilité dans l’univers électronique (How Not To Be Seen, 2013), analysent ou révèlent les mécaniques de surveillance et de contrôle actives dans nos sociétés. Mais ils indiquent aussi des formes de résistance semblables à ce que Michel de Certeau réunissait sous le terme de « braconnage » : des ruses, des échappées, des chemins de traverse qui permettent une réinvention du quotidien et de nos espaces de liberté. 

La séquence d’expositions de l’automne 2021 du MAMCO, avec la rétrospective de Tony Conrad, une intervention de Julia Scher et le projet collectif intitulé « Surveiller et performer », entend restituer ces réflexions qui toutes pressentaient que le 21e siècle serait celui de la surveillance totale et de la cartographie non plus du monde, mais du comportement humain.


N°7

La crise que nous traversons depuis l’émergence du virus Covid-19 et la nature des mesures prises par les gouvernements pour en combattre la circulation, ont profondément modifié le fonctionnement du MAMCO depuis le mois de mars 2020. Non seulement ses programmes, mais également son fonctionnement. Coupé, pendant plusieurs mois, de sa mission d’accueil et de formation des publics ; contraint, aujourd’hui encore, à d’incessants réaménagements de ses activités ; invité, par les changements sociétaux qui se profilent, à repenser ses modalités de travail, ses priorités ont été entièrement réorganisées. 

    D’abord, nous avons souhaité honorer nos engagements envers les artistes, nos équipes et nos partenaires ; aussi les projets prévus en 2020 ont-ils été reportés au deuxième semestre 2021 et au premier de 2022. 

Ensuite, nous nous sommes concentrés sur des tâches liées à la collection du musée. Après en avoir terminé l’inventaire en 2019, nous avons ainsi ouvert les chantiers de son récolement et de sa mise en ligne. Depuis le mois de juillet 2020, près de la moitié de la collection est désormais disponible à la consultation sur notre site Internet et nous continuerons à ajouter des corpus d’œuvres au fil des mois. 

De janvier à l’été 2021, nous vous invitons à redécouvrir cette collection, dans le cadre d’un « inventaire » physique auquel participent toutes les conservatrices et tous les conservateurs du musée – selon une méthodologie plurielle qui renvoie à la constitution de cet ensemble. 

Revenant sur des corpus peu montrés depuis leur entrée dans les collections ou, au contraire, sur des œuvres marquantes de l’expérience du musée, l’exposition est articulée autour de présentations collectives et historiques, ponctuées par des salles monographiques. 

Il s’agit d’affirmer le rôle que le MAMCO joue dans la constitution d’un patrimoine public en Suisse et d’offrir un parcours à travers des mouvements artistiques de la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, tout en proposant de nouveaux éclairages sur des corpus représentatifs que le musée conserve. 

De l’art minimal et conceptuel au mouvement Fluxus, du «Body Art» à l’appropriation des années 1970 et 1980, de l’héritage de l’abstraction aux retours de la figuration dans les dernières décennies, le balayage historique permet également de revenir sur des questions de théâtralité dans les arts visuels, sur la réflexion autour de l’architecture et de l’espace urbain menée par des artistes depuis les années 1960 ou encore sur le « devenir liquide » des images au tournant du 21e siècle. 


MAMCO Journal N°7

LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk