g
h

Richard Nonas (*1936, New York) has devoted himself to sculpture from the beginning of the 1970s, after taking courses in literature and social anthropology and also spending years studying the Indians of the USA and Canada. Nonas describes his way of working as follows: “I set up each sculpture to open then close again the part of the world where it is standing. I set it up to transform a totally new story into human existence. I set up my sculptures to give shape to a changing past. To recognise the very possibility of history in a world that is fleeing away.”

Made up of 37 steel pieces of the same length but of a variable height, Riverrun (from Swerve to Bend) can be set up in various ways: it is possible to use all of its elements, or just some of them. In other words, this work can be adapted to the space displaying it, which is also reconfigured by it.

This sculpture can immediately be associated with a minimalist aesthetic, with a simplicity of forms, modularity and repetitiveness, making one work into a whole — all of the aspects associated with American art from the late 1960s can be found here. It also employs the horizontality of space. Riverrun (from Swerve to Bend) unfurls under our feet — it is in fact possible to walk across it to experience it — stretched out across the floor in a distinctly constructed way. This is an element which is clearly present among the American artists of Nonas’s generation, such as Robert Morris, Carl Andre or Richard Serra. This type of work confronts the entire history of classic statuary which presents strict forms, that were upright and around which the spectators could walk. This is nothing like it: it is the floor itself that becomes the pivotal point, rather than the plinth of the sculpture, and is its entire zone of appearance. 

There is another possible story about such horizontality. Marcel Duchamp was doubtlessly one of the first 20th century artists to produce works which were low (spatially speaking), with works tumbling down to the floor (3 Standard Stoppages, 1913/1914) or which were fixed onto the ground in such a way that we might tumble over them (Trap, 1917). In a figurative and surrealist vein, Alberto Giacometti also explored just the same horizontal spacing with his Woman With her Throat Cut (1932), a bronze skeleton placed on the ground. The American artists of Nonas’s generation then extended this horizontal exploration of space. The work of Nonas himself stands as a meaningful moment in this exploration that can also be led externally, towards natural landscapes. 

    MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
    FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
    ghfk

g
h

Richard Nonas (*1936, New York) se consacre à la sculpture à partir du début des années 1970, après avoir suivi des cours de littérature et d’anthropologie sociale et passé une dizaine d’années à étudier les Indiens d’Amérique et du Canada.

Nonas décrit ainsi sa façon de travailler : « J’installe chaque sculpture pour rouvrir puis fermer la partie du monde où elle est mise. Je l’installe pour transformer une histoire réelle nouvelle en existence humaine. J’installe ma sculpture pour donner forme au passé changeant. Pour reconnaître la possibilité même de l’histoire dans un monde qui s’enfuit. » 

Composé de 37 pièces en acier de même longueur et d’une hauteur variable, Riverrun (from Swerve to Bend) peut être montré de différentes manières : on peut utiliser la totalité des modules ou bien simplement une partie. C’est dire que cette œuvre s’adapte au lieu qui l’accueille et qu’elle reconfigure.

On relie d’emblée cette sculpture à une esthétique minimaliste : simplicité des formes, modularité et répétitivité, saisie de l’œuvre comme un tout — autant de traits attachés à l’art américain des années 1960 que l’on retrouve ici. Elle utilise par ailleurs l’horizontalité de l’espace. Riverrun (from Swerve to Bend) défile sous nos pieds — on peut, on doit même marcher dessus pour l’expérimenter —, elle s’étale au sol d’une manière très précisément construite. C’est là une donnée fortement présente chez des artistes américains de la génération de Nonas, comme Robert Morris, Carl Andre ou Richard Serra. Ce type d’œuvres va à l’encontre de toute l’histoire de la statuaire classique qui proposait des formes érigées, des formes dressées à la verticale autour desquelles le spectateur pouvait tourner. Rien de tel ici : c’est le sol lui-même qui devient le point d’appui davantage que le socle de la sculpture, son territoire exclusif d’apparition. 

Il y a une autre histoire possible de cette horizontalité. Marcel Duchamp a sans doute été l’un des tout premiers artistes du 20e siècle à faire des œuvres basses (au sens spatial du terme), des œuvres qui tombent sur le sol (3 Stoppages-étalon, 1913/1914) ou qui sont fixées au sol au point qu’on puisse buter contre elles (Trébuchet, 1917). Dans une veine figurative et surréaliste, Alberto Giacometti explorera lui aussi cette spatialisation horizontale avec sa Femme égorgée (1932), un squelette en bronze posé par terre. Les artistes américains de la génération de Nonas ont élargi cette exploration horizontale de l’espace. Le travail de Nonas lui-même représente un moment significatif de cette exploration qui peut être aussi menée à l’extérieur, dans des paysages naturels. 

    LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
    FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIMirabaud & Cie SAFondation de Famille Sandoz
    ghfk