g
h

Visitors entering the sound installation of seven musical sequences by Kristin Oppenheim (*1959) find themselves at the heart of the medium of song. The a cappella voice retains the essence of the original song: a short melody and one or two phrases. The artist appeals to the individual and collective memory by featuring a familiar tune, played on a loop.   

            The voice comes close, sharpens our senses and envelops us in its gentle warmth. A second, more distant voice overlays the first and expands the sound-space. The spatialization and reverberation of the voices enables us to ascertain distance and become aware of the space. Our listening is conditioned by the way in which sound is inscribed in space.  

The work also brings primal sensations to the surface, through vocal vibrations, the shifts back and forth between the voices, and the rhythm, comparable to that of breathing. The body is more than a screen onto which the voices project: it is a permeable, receptive organism that allows us to rediscover the tactile properties of sound. And yet, contrasting with this conscious physicality, we detect a kind of evanescence at work, the absence of a body projecting this plain, unadorned song into the empty space.     

Oppenheim’s use of lyrics also evokes a sense of lacking, inadequacy and distance from the other: the artist glimpses a figure in Through an Open Window (1992); she is neglected in Shiver (1992), she weeps in  Cry Me a River (1992), then in more seductive mode, calls out “Squeeze me tight” in Starry Night (1993). In The Spider and I (1993), a strikingly visual cover of Lesley Gore’s song I Would, she sings of all the journeys she would make for love: “I would swim the coldest oceans, I would walk in burning sands, I would crawl across the desert with my heart held in my hands.” The title of Oppenheim’s work suggests the voice spinning its threads in space, like a web.

For Kristin Oppenheim, voices take the place of figures, as they accompany the visitor. Singing allows her to play on a comprehensive range of emotions. The use of melody favors the development of more haunting, vulnerable, cajoling vocal nuances. Ultimately, the tone and the use of repetition seek to reveal other voices, buried deep inside us all.  

 

    MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
    FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
    ghfk

g
h

En pénétrant dans l’installation sonore de Kristin Oppenheim (*1959), composée de sept séquences musicales, le visiteur se retrouve au cœur du chant. La voix a cappella conserve l’essentiel de la chanson originale : une courte mélodie et une ou deux phrases. L’artiste fait ainsi appel à la mémoire individuelle et collective en proposant un air déjà entendu et diffusé en boucle.

La voix s’approche, éveille l’attention et enveloppe en douceur. Une seconde voix, plus lointaine, se superpose à la première et élargit l’espace sonore. La spatialisation et la réverbération des voix permettent de reconnaître les distances et de prendre ainsi conscience du lieu. L’écoute est conditionnée par la manière dont la matière sonore s’inscrit dans l’espace.

Ce travail fait aussi affleurer des sensations primaires, à travers la vibration vocale, le balancement des voix, le rythme proche d’une respiration. Le corps n’est pas un simple écran où se projette une voix : c’est un organisme perméable, récepteur, qui permet de redécouvrir les propriétés tactiles du son. Pourtant, face à ce savoir vivant, une évanescence est à l’œuvre du fait de l’absence du corps qui émet ce chant épuré dans l’espace vide.

Les paroles, elles aussi, évoquent le manque et la distance vis-à-vis de l’autre : l’artiste aperçoit quelqu’un par la fenêtre dans Through an Open Window (1992), elle est délaissée dans Shiver (1992), elle en pleure dans Cry Me a River (1992), puis entonne, plus séductrice « Squeeze me tight » (Serre-moi fort) dans Starry Night (1993). Dans The Spider and I (1993), une reprise de Lesley Gore particulièrement visuelle, elle chante tous les périples qu’elle ferait par amour : « I would swim the coldest oceans, I would walk in burning sands, I would crawl across the desert with my heart held in my hands » (Je nagerais dans les océans les plus froids, je marcherais sur du sable brûlant, je ramperais à travers le désert avec mon cœur porté dans mes mains). Le titre de l’œuvre fait penser que cette voix tisse son fil dans l’espace comme une toile. 

Pour Kristin Oppenheim, les voix tiennent lieu de personnages qui accompagnent la visite. Chanter lui permet de jouer sur toute la gamme des sentiments. La mélodie favorise le développement de nuances vocales plus hantées, plus vulnérables ou plus enjôleuses. Finalement le ton et les répétitions cherchent à révéler d’autres voix, enfouies en chacun de nous. 

    LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
    FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
    ghfk