g
h

Gilles Dusein (b.1959, d.1993, of AIDS) 

It was my good fortune to know Gilles Dusein in the late 1980s, when his gallery Urbi et Orbi was on rue de la Roquette in Paris’s 11th arrondissement. I immediately liked his distinctive program, with its emphasis on photography, and we quickly became friends. Gilles was one of the first to show Nan Goldin—her work was an artistic shock to me—but also Zoe Leonard and so many others (Pierre Molinier, Sandy Skoglund, Jan Saudek etc.) who spoke to a sense of urgency, of lifestyles that differed from those familiar to us in Paris. In the early 1990s, Urbi et Orbi became an itinerant venue, and I worked with Gilles at the time: his vision of installing his gallery inside other people’s spaces, to present an “other” vision of art, seemed to me like a glimpse of the future.        

    Gilles Dusein was an extraordinary person. When I met him, he was earning a living as a dancer at the Alcazar while studying philosophy (he was part of Michal Foucault’s circle). Very early on, and ahead of his time, he chose to focus mainly on photography, while remaining open to creative practices of all kinds, as his collection demonstrates. Jacques Donguy, a gallerist who showed work by radical artists, offered Gilles the chance to curate part of his program, and that’s how Gilles began his own career as a gallerist. He lived in a modest apartment overlooking Père Lachaise cemetery: confronting his destiny, even then. Gotscho was his life partner and Nan Goldin published unforgettable photographs of the pair, taken as she accompanied them through to Gilles’s death. They lived with artworks by their close friends: Nan Goldin, Zoe Leonard, Pierre Keller, Larry Clark, Jean-Christian Bourcart, Pierre Molinier, Angela Bulloch, Jack Pierson, and so many others. All shared a commitment to a lifestyle outside the mainstream.

Gilles knew very well that he was different, a minority, but he chose freedom. The freedom that comes with accepting your choices and moving forward with your life as best as you can. Freedom resides, always, in knowing our limits. In his life, in his physicality, Gilles lived the message handed down to us by Michel Foucault (who also embraced his minority status, and difference of a kind): never forget to invent your own life. 

—Caroline Bourgeois

  • The collection “Autour de Gilles Dusein” has been gifted to MAMCO with the support of the artists involved, Serge Aboukrat, Christian Bernard, and Caroline Bourgeois
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

Gilles Dusein (1959-1993 ; mort du SIDA)

J’ai eu la chance de connaître Gilles Dusein à la fin des années 1980, lorsque sa galerie, Urbi et Orbi, était située rue de la Roquette dans le 11e arrondissement de Paris. J'ai tout de suite aimé la singularité de son programme, plutôt dirigé vers la photographie, et nous sommes vite devenus amis. Gilles a été l'un des premiers à présenter Nan Goldin, qui a été pour moi un choc artistique, mais aussi Zoe Leonard et tant d'autres – Pierre Molinier, Sandy Skoglund, Jan Saudek... – qui parlaient d’une urgence, d’autres styles de vie que ceux auxquels nous étions habitués à Paris. Au début des années 1990, Urbi et Orbi est devenue une galerie itinérante et j'ai, à cette époque, travaillé avec Gilles : sa vision d’insérer sa galerie dans les espaces des autres pour proposer une « autre » vision de l’art me semblait être celle du futur.

Gilles Dusein était un personnage hors du commun. Quand je l'ai connu, il subvenait à ses besoins en étant danseur à l’Alcazar tout en suivant des cours de philosophie (il faisait partie du cercle de Michel Foucault). Très tôt, en avance sur son époque, il a choisi principalement le médium photographique, tout en restant curieux de toute démarche créatrice (comme le montre sa collection). Jacques Donguy, galeriste qui montrait des artistes radicaux, lui avait proposé de concevoir une partie de sa programmation et c'est ainsi que Gilles a commencé sa carrière de galeriste. Il habitait un modeste appartement au-dessus du cimetière du Père Lachaise, faisant déjà face à son destin. Il partageait alors sa vie avec Gotscho et des photographies inoubliables d’eux ont été publiées par Nan Goldin, qui les a accompagnés jusqu’à la mort de Gilles. Ils vivaient avec les œuvres d’art de leur proche : Nan Goldin, Zoe Leonard, Pierre Keller, Larry Clark, Jean-Christian Bourcart, Pierre Molinier, Angela Bulloch, Jack Pierson et tant d’autres. Le point commun de ces artistes est leur engagement, le fait qu'ils se permettaient un autre style de vie que celui de la majorité. 

Gilles était bien conscient qu'il était différent, qu'il faisait partie d'une minorité, mais il avait choisi la liberté. Cette liberté que l’on gagne lorsque l’on avance en assumant sa vie autant que faire se peut. La liberté est toujours dans la conscience de nos limites. En fait, il vivait dans sa vie, dans sa chair, le message que nous a alors transmis Michel Foucault (qui lui aussi se savait dans la minorité et une certaine déviance) : n’oubliez pas d’inventer votre vie. 

—Caroline Bourgeois

  • La collection « Autour de Gilles Dusein » a été offerte au MAMCO grâce au soutien des artistes, de Serge Aboukrat, de Christian Bernard et de Caroline Bourgeois
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk