g
h

Endre Tót (b. 1937) is a leading figure in the Hungarian avant-garde. Since the 1960s, his work has been situated at the crossroads of Conceptual art, Mail art, and performance art. After a classical art education at the Academy of Fine Arts in Budapest, Tót initially concentrated on painting. In 1970, however, realizing the limited possibilities that such a medium offered given the era’s pervasive censorship, Tót gave it up and began working with a typewriter. The following year, he was invited to take part in a Mail art exhibition organized by Jean-Marc Poinsot for the 1971 Paris Biennale. This opened doors for him to an international network of artistic correspondence. Suddenly Tót—who until then had been confined to Soviet-controlled Hungary—had access to the entire world, thanks to a simple, rapid artistic practice that flew under the censor’s radar. In this way, he came into contact with Ecart and began a significant exchange of letters with John Armleder.

Tót embarked on a series of works that he entitled Nothingness, which consisted of a series of typewritten pages, mailed to various recipients, covered in zeros. Whereas Mail art is geared towards exchanging ideas, these “anti-communicative” pieces, as the artist described them, are nonsensical. Art critic Pierre Restany described the series as “postal monochromes,” making Tót “the Yves Klein of Mail art.” Tót then transferred the zeros to rubber stamps and postage, parodying the State’s administrative trappings. Tót’s advocacy of nothingness also made its way onto signs and banners carried by protestors during light-hearted demonstrations. Concurrently with these works, and in sharp contrast with their emptiness and lack of message, Tót also produced self-portraits of himself as a laughing artist, thereby ridiculing the boundless optimism that typified socialist images. By dint of repetition, the artist’s enthusiasm becomes less and less plausible.

Tót first took part in Ecart in 1974, when he showed one dozen rain pOstCarDs, another series of typewritten works begun in 1971. Postcards with views of Budapest are covered in slash symbols (/), making it seem as though the city is being rained on. For this exhibition, Ecart has published the correspondence between Tót and Armleder in order to trace “a significant artistic path” and to introduce “Tót's work in the spirit in which he conceived it.”

Tót went to Geneva in 1976 with the exhibition TÓTalJOYS. For this show, he organized a series of street demonstrations together with Armleder, Dougal and Lucchini. Tót appeared carrying a series of signs adorned with tautological messages. Outside the exhibition space, a large zero traced in whitewash served as an introduction to the photographs documenting his actions on display in the gallery.

  • The current exhibition, curated by Paul Bernard and Julien Fronsacq, is based on the works and documents in the Ecart Archives, which have been in MAMCO’s holdings since 2016
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk

g
h

Figure centrale de l’avant-garde hongroise, Endre Tót (*1937) poursuit depuis les années 1960 une œuvre à la croisée de l’art conceptuel, du Mail Art et de la performance. Après avoir suivi une formation classique au sein de l’Académie des beaux-arts de Budapest, Tót se consacre d’abord à la peinture. Conscient des possibilités réduites qu’offre ce médium dans un contexte soumis à une censure omniprésente, il l’abandonne en 1970 et commence alors à travailler avec une machine à écrire. Invité à participer à une exposition sur le Mail Art organisée par Jean-Marc Poinsot pour la biennale de Paris en 1971, Tòt va accéder à un réseau international d’échanges artistiques. Jusque-là isolé dans une Hongrie aux ordres de Moscou, il accède tout à coup au monde dans sa globalité, à la faveur d'une pratique simple, rapide et en mesure d’échapper à la censure. C’est ainsi qu’il rentre en contact avec Ecart et qu’il initie une importante correspondance avec John Armleder. 

Il entame une série de travaux qu’il intitule Nothingness (Néant). Il emploie le caractère « 0 », (zéro) de manière répétitive dans une série de compositions à la machine à écrire envoyées à ses différents interlocuteurs. Alors que le Mail Art vise à l’échange d’idée, ces pièces « anti-communicatives », comme les décrit l’artiste, sont marquées par le non-sens. Le critique d’art Pierre Restany envisage ainsi cette série comme « un monochrome postal », faisant de Tót « le Yves Klein du Mail Art ». Ce signe migrera ensuite sur des tampons ou des timbres, parodiant le langage de l’administration. Cette revendication du néant va également se déployer dans une série de pancartes et banderoles qui seront brandies par des manifestants lors de joyeuses démonstrations. C’est que, parallèlement à cette série et en opposition à ce vide et cette absence de message, Tót fait également circuler des autoportraits de lui en artiste rieur, moquant l’optimisme à toute épreuve qui caractérise les représentations socialistes. A force de répétition, son enthousiasme devient de moins en moins crédible.

Tót intervient une première fois à Ecart en 1974. Il y présente one dozen rain pOstCarDs, une autre série de travaux à la machine à écrire initiée en 1971. La répétition du « / » (slash) sur les cartes postales plonge les vues de Budapest sous la pluie. A l’occasion de cette exposition, Ecart édite la correspondance entre Tót et Armleder afin de reproduire « un parcours significatif » et d’introduire « le travail de Tót dans l’esprit dans lequel il le conçoit ». 

L’artiste hongrois revient à Genève en 1976 avec l’exposition TÓTalJOYS. A cette occasion il réalise, avec Armlder, Dougal et Lucchini, une série de manifestations dans la rue. Tôt y manifeste en brandissant une série de pancartes aux messages tautologiques. Un grand zéro tracé à la chaux sur la devanture de l’espace d’exposition introduit aux photographies documentant ses actions présentées dans la galerie. 

  • L’exposition, organisée par Paul Bernard et Julien Fronsacq, est construite à partir des œuvres et des documents figurant dans les Archives Ecart déposées au MAMCO depuis 2016
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk