g
h

Fabrice Gygi (b. 1965 in Geneva) has attempted to expose the authoritarian systems that are at work in our daily lives, starting with his first artistic outputs in the late 1980s. “My aim is to identify manifestations of authority, from the most ordinary to the most depraved,” he said, “These include the heroic, civic figure of the firefighter, social subsets like choral groups and brass bands, and other popular associations styled after militia-type organizations. I always attempt to portray authority as naturally as possible, as it really is.”

Gygi reconstructs spaces or facilities used to stage public events—whether official gatherings, sporting events, or celebrations—to show us that these events are unfailingly authoritarian and spectacular representations. He reveals that, for the alienating operator as described by Guy Debord, the spectacle must possess structures of constraint. A podium, for example, is used to define the hierarchical positions of the participants in the same way that a bar assigns social roles, barriers define the authorized perimeters of a demonstration, and polling places determine voter behavior.

Instead of calling for direct action, Gygi subverts these instruments of control through appropriation. However, in contrast to the generation of artists that preceded him such as Cady Noland, he takes it upon himself to construct each element. And even though the pieces retain all of the functional ambiguity of their referent, the artist broadly hints at how they can be reworked. In this way, the curved wicker cestas used by jai alai players could be used as projectile weapons, while air mattresses and floor mats—intended to cushion shocks—take on a more threatening appearance.

One is reminded here of Gordon Matta-Clark who, when he was invited in 1970 to take part in the architecture exhibition Idea as Model at the Institute for Architecture and Urban Studies in New York, shot out all the windows of the exhibition area with an air rifle. In the spaces thus created, he placed photographs of the broken windows of South Bronx apartment houses that had been vandalized by their tenants to protest their appalling living conditions. This explosive act of violence within the walls of an institution can be read as the very thing that allows that institution to reconnect with the larger social reality

  • The exhibition, curated by Lionel Bovier, draws on works in MAMCO’s collections and on recent donations
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk

g
h

Dès ses premières œuvres, à la fin des années 1980, Fabrice Gygi (né à Genève en 1965) s’efforce de mettre au jour des mécanismes autoritaires inscrits dans notre environnement quotidien. « Ce qui m’intéresse, explique-t-il en 1997, c’est de pointer l’autorité sous ses aspects les plus communs et les plus pervers : figure héroïque et civile du pompier, micro-sociétés comme les chorales, les fanfares ou autres associations populaires reproduisant une organisation de milice, etc. Je tente toujours de montrer l’autorité comme elle apparaît dans la réalité, c’est-à-dire de façon “naturalisée”. » 

En reconstruisant des espaces ou des dispositifs qui permettent d’organiser une manifestation publique (officielle, sportive ou festive), Fabrice Gygi montre qu’il s’agit toujours de formes de représentation autoritaires et spectaculaires. Ce que l’artiste met ainsi en évidence, c’est que, pour être l’opérateur aliénant que décrit Guy Debord, le spectacle doit posséder des structures de contrainte. Un podium permet, par exemple, de situer hiérarchiquement les protagonistes, de la même façon qu’un bar distribue les rôles sociaux, que des barrières définissent les limites autorisées de déploiement de la manifestation ou qu’un local de vote programme les comportements de ses usagers.

L’artiste, plutôt que d’appeler à l’action directe, organise la subversion en s’appropriant les instruments même de l’ordre. Mais, contrairement à Cady Noland et une génération d’artistes le précédant, il prend en charge la construction de chaque élément. Et si les œuvres conservent toute l’ambiguïté de fonctionnement de leur référent, l’artiste suggère généralement leur possible détournement. Ainsi, les chisteras de la pelote basque peuvent devenir des armes de trait et des gonflables (censés amortir les chocs) ou des agrès prendre l’aspect d’une menace.

On peut penser ici à Gordon Matta-Clark lorsque, invité à une exposition d’architecture (Idea as Model, New York Institute for Architecture, 1970), il fit exploser par des coups de feu tous les vitrages du lieu pour présenter dans ces béances des photographies d’immeubles du South Bronx, eux aussi vandalisés par leurs locataires en signe de protestation contre leurs conditions de logement déplorables. Et on peut lire dans cette violence qui fait soudainement irruption dans l’institution ce qui permet à celle-ci de se reconnecter à une réalité sociale. 

  • L’exposition, organisée par Lionel Bovier, est construite à partir d’œuvres de la collection du MAMCO et de dons récents
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation Lombard Odier
ghfk