g
h

“The world’s great age begins anew, The earth doth like a snake renew; While Heaven smiles and Aeons gleam Like wrecks of a death dissolving dream”.

Jo Baer (b. 1929) adapted these lines from Shelley’s poem Hellas for the title of one of her works from 2018. Shelley’s paean to the cycle of life resonates perfectly with Baer’s prolific output, which was marked by a series of shifts in style. Within ten years of completing her studies, her work was attracting the notice of both her peers and museums. By the mid-1960s, Baer was being shown in important Minimal and Conceptual exhibitions. Dan Flavin presented her alongside Donald Judd, Sol LeWitt, Robert Ryman, and Frank Stella; Lawrence Alloway included Baer’s work in Systemic Painting at the Guggenheim; and Mel Bochner showed her in Working Drawings and Other Visible Things on Paper Not Necessarily Meant to be Viewed as Art. In 1975, Baer oversaw a retrospective of her work at the Whitney Museum in New York.

    In dialogue with Robert Smithson, Baer described herself as a paradoxical formalist. Although the modernist movement to which she belonged imposed the centrality of abstract painting, Baer distilled from it motifs and subjects that possessed a vernacular dimension to which she remained faithful. Her paintings, which are planar and purely visual, are in keeping with modernist orthodoxy, but invite the viewer into a physical, spatial and sensory experience. In this way, the painting cannot be reduced to a frontal, photographic experience that excludes the medium’s materiality. Baer’s exploration of the peripheries and edges of her canvases led to her famous Radiator Paintings, painting-objects, hung close to the floor, whose thick borders are also painted.

At the end of her Whitney retrospective, Baer left the New York scene behind and settled in an Irish manor house before announcing that she was no longer an “abstract artist.” The exhibition at MAMCO is an opportunity to discover pieces produced over a period of two decades, in which the artist first established and then abandoned an abstract language, and to appreciate a lifelong creative quest that cannot be reduced to simple artistic labels.

  • Curated by Julien Fronsacq
  • With the support of PACE Gallery
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk

g
h

« Le grand âge du monde recommence, la terre fait comme un serpent qui se renouvelle ; alors que le Ciel sourit et que l'Eternité brille comme les épaves d'un mort qui dissout le rêve ». [The world’s great age begins anew, The earth doth like a snake renew; While Heaven smiles and Aeons gleam like wrecks of a death dissolving dream].
    C’est avec ces quelques mots empruntés au poète Shelley que Jo Baer (*1929) intitule l’une de ses œuvres de 2018. Cet éloge de la vitalité cyclique résonne parfaitement avec une œuvre foisonnante et riche en ruptures. Au terme de ses études, en moins de dix ans, son œuvre bénéficie de l’intérêt de ses pairs et des musées. Au milieu des années 1960, Baer est invitée à d’importantes expositions minimalistes et conceptuelles. Dan Flavin la présente aux côtés de Judd, LeWitt, Ryman et Stella, Lawrence Alloway l’associe à Systemic Painting au Guggenheim et Mel Bochner à Working Drawings and Other Visible Things on Paper Not Necessarily Meant to be Viewed as Art. En 1975, elle conçoit une rétrospective au Whitney Museum of American Art de New York.

Dans une discussion avec Robert Smithson, elle se qualifiait de formaliste paradoxale. Si elle appartient à un modernisme qui a imposé le principe d’une peinture abstraite, elle l’a déduit de motifs et d’objets dotés d’une dimension vernaculaire qu’elle n’a jamais quittée. Plane et optique sa peinture respecte l’orthodoxie mais invite le spectateur à une expérience physique, spatialisée et kinesthésique. La peinture alors ne saurait se contenter d’une photographie frontale qui risque de ne pas saisir la matérialité du tableau. Son exploration des limites et des bords de la toile la conduit à la célèbre série des Radiator Paintings, tableaux-objets peints dont le chant, l’épaisseur du châssis, sont peints et qui sont accrochés au ras du sol.

A l’issue de sa rétrospective au Whitney Jo Baer décide pourtant de quitter la scène new-yorkaise pour s’installer dans un manoir irlandais avant de déclarer qu’elle n’est plus une « artiste abstraite ». L’exposition au MAMCO est l’occasion d’apprécier des œuvres produites durant deux décennies, de la mise en place à la mise à mal d’un vocabulaire abstrait, et de saisir la cohérence d’une recherche qui ne saurait être réduite aux étiquettes artistiques.

  • Organisée par Julien Fronsacq
  • Avec le soutien de PACE Gallery
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk