g
h

Retrospective

Concrete art, the final modernist movement in Switzerland, dominated the country’s art scene until the end of the 1960s. After this, other international influences began to appear—Pop art and Conceptual art, followed by Fluxus, and the return of figurative painting.

The Concrete art movement, which emerged during the interwar period in Europe, called for an objective, autonomous visual idiom free from any exterior referentiality. Situating itself in opposition to figurative art as well as to real or expressive abstraction, Concrete art constructed a vocabulary through the use of purely visual elements (shapes, surfaces, colors) designed to embody clear geometric principles.

In 1930, the Concrete Art group, with Theo Van Doesburg at its center, offered a reference point around which artists such as Wassily Kandinsky and Jean Arp could define their art. However, it was Max Bill who gave the movement real impetus, first in 1936 in Switzerland, then internationally through a number of exhibitions and publications.

It was not until the movement had already peaked that Verena Loewensberg (1912–1986), the only female member of the “Zurich Concretes,” finally enjoyed the same recognition as her peers (who included Bill, Camille Graeser and Richard Paul Lohse). The full extent of her œuvre only became known in 1981 at her Kunsthaus Zürich retrospective (the museum’s first such exhibition of a woman artist), five years before her death.

Loewensberg, who rarely discussed her work and was little-known in the French-speaking part of Switzerland, created concise, structured compositions that showed considerable freedom in terms of shape and color. Her first works date back to 1936, and the first painting recorded in her catalogue raisonné (nearly 630 paintings, as well as gouaches, drawings, engravings, and sculptures) dates from 1944.

After finishing the Kunstgewerbeschule Basel (a school of applied arts), where she trained in drawing, textiles and color theory, she studied dance in Zurich. Through her association with Max Bill, she came into contact with the Paris-based Abstraction-Création group, led by Georges Vantongerloo, which first exhibited her work in 1936.

In the ensuing decades, Loewensberg, who was married to designer Hans Coray until 1949, developed her pictorial practice while working in the local textile industry and accepting commissions for applied art. A jazz enthusiast, she opened City-Discount, a record store, in Zurich in the 1960s. From this point on her work focused on shapes and series that broke from the strictures of concrete art and moved closer to the ideas of color field painting, Pop art, and minimalist art.

The MAMCO exhibition is structured around the artist’s progression. Taking as its starting point her entire generation’s relationship to the grid system as a rational organizing principle, the exhibition shows the proliferation of this movement starting in the 1950s and emphasizes the importance of music and the applied arts in Loewensberg’s early pieces. It also reveals the artist’s freer use of shape and color that culminated in her series from the 1970s and 1980s, works that reflect the influence of two contemporaneous movements, serial art, and radical abstraction.

  • Curated by Lionel Bovier
  • With the support of the Stanley Johnson Foundation, the Ernst Göhner Foundation, and the Georg and Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk

g
h

Rétrospective

Dernier mouvement moderne en Suisse, l’art concret domine la scène nationale jusqu’à la fin des années 1960, lorsque d’autres influences internationales surgissent (Pop Art et art conceptuel d’abord, Fluxus et retour de la peinture figurative ensuite).

Apparu dans l’entre-deux-guerres en Europe, l’art concret revendique l’objectivité et l’autonomie du langage plastique en dehors de toute référence au monde extérieur. S'opposant à l'art figuratif tout autant qu'à une abstraction déduite du réel ou expressive, il construit son langage à partir de la seule utilisation des éléments plastiques (formes, surfaces, couleurs) destinée à servir un principe géométrique clair. 

Le groupe Art Concret, fondé en 1930 autour de Theo Van Doesburg, deviendra une référence pour des artistes tels que Wassily Kandinsky ou Jean Arp pour qualifier leur art. Mais c'est Max Bill qui donnera une réelle ampleur à ce mouvement, dès 1936 en Suisse, puis internationalement à travers plusieurs manifestations et publications.

Unique femme du groupe des « concrets zurichois », Verena Loewensberg n’atteint la même reconnaissance que ses compagnons (Bill, Camille Graeser et Richard Paul Lohse), qu’après l’apogée du mouvement. Il faudra en effet attendre la rétrospective du Kunsthaus de Zurich en 1981 (la première d’une artiste femme organisée par ce musée), cinq ans avant sa disparition, pour découvrir toute l’étendue de sa pratique.

Peu connue dans les régions francophones et s’étant rarement exprimée sur son travail, Verena Loewensberg (1912-1986) réalise des compositions précises, structurées mais faisant montre d’une grande liberté formelle et chromatique. Ses premières œuvres remontent à 1936 et la première peinture enregistrée dans son catalogue raisonné (qui compte près de 630 toiles, ainsi que des gouaches, des dessins, des gravures et des sculptures) date de 1944.

Après des études à la Gewerbeschule de Bâle (école des arts et métiers) où elle suit une formation en dessin, textile et théorie des couleurs, elle prend des cours de danse à Zurich. Entrée en contact, par l’intermédiaire de Bill, avec le groupe Abstraction-Création, qui gravite à Paris autour de Georges Vantongerloo, elle participe à sa première exposition en 1936.

Dans les décennies qui suivent, mariée, jusqu’en 1949, au designer Hans Coray, elle développe sa pratique picturale, tout en travaillant pour l’industrie textile locale et tout en se consacrant à des commandes d’art appliqué. Passionnée de jazz, elle ouvre, dans les années 1960, un magasin de disques à Zurich, City-Discount. Dès cette époque, son travail repose sur des formes et des séries qui s’éloignent du canon de l’art concret et la rapprochent d’expériences menées au sein du Colorfield Painting, du Pop Art ou de l’art minimal.

L’exposition du MAMCO est structurée autour de cette évolution : partant du rapport que toute cette génération entretient au motif de la grille en tant que système d’organisation rationnel, elle en montre l’explosion dès les années 1950, tout en rappelant l’importance de la musique et des arts appliqués dans les premières compositions de l’artiste. Elle montre aussi cette libération des formes et des couleurs qui aboutit aux séries des années 1970 et 1980, lesquelles dialoguent avec la pratique de la sérialité et l’abstraction radicale dont elles sont contemporaines.

  • Organisée par Lionel Bovier
  • Avec le soutien de la Stanley Johnson Stiftung, de la Ernst Göhner Stiftung et de la Georg et Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk