g
h

(1980-2019)

Since 1980, Ecart occupies a booth at Art Basel, the international fair. Its small size, its distinctive furnishings (a legacy of the Hôtel Richemond), and its atmosphere of permanent discussion are familiar to every Art Basel visitor. It is a fixed point in an otherwise inflationary event and one of the fair’s few not-for-profit spaces (revenues from sales go solely to the exhibited artists). MAMCO exhibition brings together some 100 artworks and documents relating to this activity and pays tribute to the “Ecart spirit.”

Ecart’s first presentations at Art Basel were closely connected to activity at the Geneva gallery (which closed in 1982), featuring work by artists such as Ben, Manon, Olivier Mosset, and Tamas Szentjoby. Books were a constant feature, too—indeed, John M Armleder made his début as an exhibitor at Art Basel with a selection of books published by Ecart. Armleder quickly saw the fair’s potential for the display of artworks, going so far as to produce several different shows over the course of the week. 

In the 1980s, the program gained curatorial autonomy, reflecting projects organized by John M Armleder, such as the Teu-Gum Show in 1981, or Peinture abstraite in 1984. The presence of artists such as Pierre-André Ferrand, Philippe Deléglise, Christian Floquet, Jean-Luc Manz, and Patrick Weidmann, as well as Helmut Federle, Allan McCollum, Steven Parrino, and Peter Schuyff, demonstrates his sustained interest in contemporary forms of abstraction, in French-speaking Switzerland and the United States alike. His display of an ensemble of paintings bought from a thrift store one of the years of this decade also reflects his ongoing exploration of questions of taste, style, and categorization in art. 

In the 1990s, John M Armleder—in collaboration with Sylvie Fleury and the occasional assistance of young curators—chose to show work by artists who would otherwise have had no presence at the fair: Cady Noland, General Idea, Karen Kilimnik, Thom Merrick, John Tremblay, Fabrice Gygi, Amy O’Neill, Blair Thurman, and Pipilotti Rist, for instance. 

Since the early 2000s, projects have alternated between historical rediscoveries (Genesis P-Orridge, Ralph Rumney, Domenico Battista, Poul Gernes, Vern Blosum, Helene Lustig Cohen, or Gustav Metzger) and young artists (Andreas Hochuli, Laurent Pache, Carissa Rodriguez, Piero Golia, Virginia Overton, Grégory Bourrilly).

With the support of Mai-Thu Perret and a constellation of art lovers, the Ecart booth continues to surprise, year after year, as a space for discussion and, at the heart of an increasingly commercial event, as a disruption of professional norms.   

  • The exhibition is organized by John M Armleder and Lionel Bovier, with Paul Bernard, Sophie Costes, Julien Fronsacq, Elisabeth Jobin, and Mai-Thu Perret, and the support of Françoise Ninghetto, Fabrice Stroun, the Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, and the participating artists
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

(1980-2019)

Depuis 1980, John M Armleder occupe un stand de la foire internationale d’art de Bâle avec Ecart. De dimension modeste, avec son mobilier singulier (héritage de l’hôtel Richemond), il est connu de toutes celles et ceux qui visitent Art Basel. Véritable point fixe dans une manifestation plutôt versée dans l’inflation, c’est aussi l’un des rares espaces à but non lucratif de la foire, puisque, en cas de vente des objets présentés, les revenus vont entièrement à l’artiste exposé. L’exposition du MAMCO, qui rassemble une centaine d’œuvres et réunit une documentation sur cette activité d’exposition, entend rendre hommage à cette émanation de l’esprit d’Ecart.

Les premières participations d’Ecart à la foire sont fortement liées aux activités de la galerie à Genève (qui fermera en 1982) : on y voit des artistes tels que Ben, Manon, Olivier Mosset ou Tamas Szentjoby, mais aussi la présence constante d’éditions. C’est d’ailleurs avec une sélection de livres publiés par Ecart que John M Armleder entre dans la liste des exposants de la foire. Il verra rapidement l’intérêt de celle-ci pour présenter aussi des œuvres, allant jusqu’à réaliser plusieurs expositions différentes pendant la semaine.

Dans les années 1980, la programmation du stand s’autonomise pour rejoindre d’abord les projets curatoriaux organisés par John M Armleder, tels que le Teu-Gum Show en 1981 ou Peinture abstraite en 1984. La présence d’artistes tels que Pierre-André Ferrand, Philippe Deléglise, Christian Floquet, Jean-Luc Manz, Patrick Weidmann, mais aussi Helmut Federle, Allan McCollum, Steven Parrino ou Peter Schuyff, atteste l’intérêt soutenu d’Armleder pour une forme d’abstraction contemporaine, qu’elle se développe en Suisse romande ou aux Etats-Unis. Le choix d’exposer un ensemble de tableaux achetés dans une brocante rappelle la manière dont Armleder se joue des questions de goût, de style et des catégories.

Dans les années 1990, John M Armleder, en collaboration avec Sylvie Fleury et parfois assisté par de jeunes curateurs, choisit plutôt de montrer des artistes qui seraient, sinon, absents de la foire. Ainsi en est-il de Cady Noland, General Idea, Karen Kilimnik, Thom Merrick, John Tremblay, Fabrice Gygi, Amy O’Neill, Blair Thurman ou Pipilotti Rist.

Depuis les années 2000, les projets oscillent entre des redécouvertes historiques (Genesis P-Orridge, Ralph Rumney, Mimo Battista, Poul Gernes, Vern Blosum, Helene Lustig Cohen et Gustav Metzger) et de jeunes artistes (Andreas Hochuli, Laurent Pache, Carissa Rodriguez, Piero Golia, Virginia Overton).

Avec la complicité de Mai-Thu Perret et d’une constellation d’amateurs d’art, le stand Ecart continue, année après année, de créer la surprise et d’offrir, au sein d’une manifestation de plus en plus commerciale un espace de discussion et de disruption des logiques professionnelles.

  • L’exposition est organisée par John M Armleder et Lionel Bovier, avec l’aide de Paul Bernard, Sophie Costes, Julien Fronsacq, Elisabeth Jobin et Mai-Thu Perret. Elle a bénéficié du soutien de Françoise Ninghetto, Fabrice Stroun, du Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain et des artistes
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk