g
h

Piotr Kowalski (1927–2004) embodies the figure of the artist as research scientist and inventor—a tradition dating back to Leonardo da Vinci. Born in Warsaw, Kowalski studied mathematics and architecture at MIT in Cambridge (Massachusetts, USA) and moved to France in the late 1950s. He practiced first as an architect, notably with Ieoh Ming Pei, Marcel Breuer, and Jean Prouvé, before turning to art and developing a corpus of sculptural work based on scientific principles. For Kowalski, the practice of art cannot be purely aesthetic: art is an urgent necessity, an expression of social activism. 

Kowalski uses state-of-the-art and everyday technology like a painter uses colour, to “transform the world and produce objects,” but never as an end in itself—always as a stimulus to the imagination. He strives to make the laws of physics perceptible, using poetic means, everyday language and contemporary tools.      

He dreamed of creating a space for “joyful wisdom” or learning—a kind of amusement park of ideas, designed to forge an understanding of the universe through objects. Kowalski produces simple, minimalist forms and basic structures, invariably as the result of a process made visible by the artist. His works vary in size from extremely small to vast—on the scale of a city. Very early on, he reflected on the possibility of incorporating art into the urban fabric, and produced monumental works in France, the US, and Japan.    

His inquisitive, scientific approach leads him to use a broad range of materials, keeping pace with technological progress. His exploratory works have incorporated light, gases, lasers, explosives, magnetic energy, holograms, microprocessors, and the Internet.

Some of Kowalski’s works hand control to the viewer: by displacing a tube, cube or glass sphere containing a variety of rare gases or a magnetic field, he or she triggers the diffusion of radiant, coloured light. In this way, Kowalski gives the viewer a tool for direct learning, while at the same time inspiring a sense of poetic, almost child-like astonishment. Added to which, the spoken word – the voice of the poet Ghérasim Luca—forges an unbreakable link between science and the imagination. 

  • Exhibition organized by honorary conservator Françoise Ninghetto, with the support of Soizic Audouard and Andrea Kowalski
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

Piotr Kowalski (1927-2004) incarne une figure d’artiste comme chercheur et inventeur qu’on peut faire remonter à Leonard de Vinci. Né à Varsovie, il étudie les mathématiques et l’architecture au M. I. T. de Cambridge (Etats-Unis) et émigre en France à la fin des années 1950. Il exerce d’abord en tant qu’architecte, notamment avec Ieoh Ming Pei, Marcel Breuer et Jean Prouvé. Il se tourne ensuite vers l’art et élabore un travail de sculpture basé sur des principes scientifiques. L’activité artistique pour Kowalski ne peut être que purement esthétique : l’art est une urgence, une action dans la société. 

Kowalski se sert de la technologie comme on se sert de couleurs en peinture : de pointe ou courante, la technologie, « avec laquelle nous transformons le monde et produisons des objets », n’est jamais une finalité en soi mais un stimulus pour l’imaginaire. Il s’emploie à rendre perceptible les lois physiques de manière poétique dans un langage de tous les jours et avec des outils contemporains. 

Il rêvait de créer un lieu de « gai savoir », une sorte de parc d’amusement des idées pour comprendre l’univers à travers des objets. Kowalski produit des formes épurées, des structures fondamentales, toujours résultantes d’un processus qu’il rend visible. Leur taille peut varier du très petit au démesurément grand, à l’échelle de la ville. Très tôt, il a en effet réfléchi à la possibilité d’intégrer l’art au tissu urbain et a réalisé des œuvres monumentales en France, aux Etats-Unis et au Japon.

Sa curiosité scientifique l’engage à utiliser des matériaux d’une grande hétérogénéité et à suivre les avancées technologiques : il intègrera ainsi au fil de ses explorations la lumière, les gaz, les lasers, les explosifs, l’énergie magnétique, les hologrammes, les microprocesseurs et Internet. Pour certaines de ses œuvres, Kowalski passe la main au spectateur : en déplaçant un tube, un cube ou une sphère de verre contenant différents gaz rares dans un champ magnétique, il/elle déclenche un rayonnement lumineux coloré. Kowalski donne ainsi au spectateur un outil de connaissance directe dans le même temps qu’un étonnement presque enfantin et poétique. Et lorsqu’il ajoute la parole — la voix du poète Ghérasim Luca — la physique et la poésie lient indissociablement la science et l’imaginaire.

  • L’exposition, organisée par Françoise Ninghetto, conservatrice honoraire, a reçu le soutien de Soizic Audouard et Andrea Kowalski
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk