g
h

In 1966, Claude Givaudan (1938–1988) opened Galerie Givaudan in Paris. In 1978, he opened a second gallery in his native city of Geneva. Givaudan was born into a family of renowned chemists, specializing in flavors and perfumes, but his personal passion was for the arts and culture, especially literature and contemporary art. The Geneva gallery organized numerous exhibitions, including shows by Piotr Kowalski, Takis, Louis Cane, Sturtevant, “Ready-mades and editions by and about Marcel Duchamp,” Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd, etc.

But it was as a publisher that Claude Givaudan proved most influential. Inventive, curious, ground-breaking, he published limited editions, books, prints, sculptures, records, and films over a twenty-year period, beginning in 1965, in collaboration with poets, writers, artists and film makers. Givaudan developed a corpus of unbridled originality, both in terms of the materials used—such as Rhodoid, acetate, and metal—and the forms of the resulting book works: cardboard boxes, paper sculptures, wooden boards, ping-pong balls. Asked why he continued to refer to these objects as “books,” he replied that each contained text that was designed to be read. They were books that “sought neither simplicity nor ease of comprehension.”

Thanks to a generous gift, MAMCO holds a near-complete set of these publications, including numerous first editions: a fitting tribute to an extraordinary publisher, who never tired of baiting his readers, as with this warning, in Catalogue-Sculpteurs (1966): “Catalogue for the stressed, the hyper-active, the over-stretched, lazy, and impatient, who prefer to leaf through its pages beside a warm fire, with a decent pipe and a tumbler of whisky to hand.” 

  • The exhibition organized by honorary curator Françoise Ninghetto, is built upon the gift by Soizic Audouard and Xavier Givaudan in memory of Claude Givaudan
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

En 1966, Claude Givaudan (1938-1988) ouvre à Paris la galerie Givaudan ; en 1978, il inaugure à Genève, sa ville natale, sa seconde galerie. Bien qu’issu d’une famille renommée de chimistes spécialisés dans la création d’arômes et de parfums, Claude Givaudan se passionna plutôt pour le monde de la culture, de la littérature et de l’art contemporain. La galerie a organisé de nombreuses expositions, parmi lesquelles celles de Piotr Kowalski, Takis, Louis Cane, Sturtevant, « Ready-mades et éditions de et sur Marcel Duchamp », Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd, etc. 

Mais, c’est dans le domaine de l’édition que le rôle de Claude Givaudan fut primordial. Inventif, curieux et novateur, il édite, dès 1965 et pendant près de vingt ans, des multiples d’artistes, des livres, des estampes, des sculptures, des disques et des films, en complicité avec des poètes, des écrivains, des artistes et des cinéastes. Utilisant des matériaux inattendus dans le monde des livres, comme le rhodoïd, l’acétate et le métal, il a développé une production d’une originalité débridée qui tient aussi à la variété des formats adoptés pour les livres : boîtes de carton, sculptures de papier, plaquettes de bois ou balles de ping-pong. A qui lui demandait pourquoi il appelait encore ces « objets » des livres, il répondait qu’il s’agissait bien de « livres, car ils contenaient des textes à lire, des livres qui ne recherchaient ni la simplicité ni la facilité de compréhension ».

Une généreuse donation d’un ensemble presque complet de ces éditions au MAMCO – dont de nombreux tirages de tête – permet de rendre hommage à un éditeur singulier, qui n’hésitait pas à tancer le lecteur en glissant dans le Catalogue-Sculpteurs (1966) l'avertissement suivant : « Catalogue destiné aux stressés, hyperactifs, sur-occupés, flemmards & impatients qui, plutôt que de se déplacer, préféreraient consulter ces fiches au coin du feu, une bonne pipe et un verre de whisky à portée de main ».

  • L’exposition, organisée par Françoise Ninghetto, conservatrice honoraire, est construite autour du don Soizic Audouard et Xavier Givaudan en mémoire de Claude Givaudan
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk