g
h

Quicksand 2

At first sight, the installation devised by John M Armleder (b. 1948) for London’s Dairy Art Centre in 2013, now re-created in a new version for MAMCO, resembles an industrial storage facility partly filled with an eclectic assortment of items (sheets of Plexiglass, artificial flowers, books etc.), and animated by audio and televisual elements. John M Armleder delights, it seems, in mixing styles and registers through his use of furnishings, artistic and decorative objects, natural and artificial materials to form an ensemble reminiscent of a shop interior, an artist’s studio, or the reserve collection of a museum—the assembled objects hark back to their commercial and industrial origins, or to the works of art represented by their fragmented remains.

Like John M Armleder’s earlier installations—featuring piled-up bottle racks, mussel shells, and sledges, with a nod to the figures of Marcel Duchamp, Marcel Broodthaers, and Joseph Beuys—the objects in Quicksand 2 remind us of what Arthur Danto has described as art’s power to “transfigure the commonplace.” The origins of this practice—the transformation of ordinary objects into artworks—lie of course in the “ready-mades” of the early 20th century, but also in American Pop art of the 1960s and in the “commodity sculpture” trend of the 1980s (including Jeff Koons, Haim Steinbach, and John M Armleder himself).

We might equally be reminded of the Wunderkammer or cabinets of curiosities assembled by collectors from the Late Renaissance onwards, featuring natural, scientific, and artistic treasures alike: ultimately, it is precisely these systems of classification that Armleder is calling into question. His work demonstrates how the power of display, the very act of organisation and presentation (however chaotic) will always prevail over the individual items presented. Artistry resides in the arrangement of the objects, their interrelationships, and the desire (however illusory) to harness them to make meaning. Nothing is ever wholly an original piece, or a reproduction, or a product of artistic or contrastingly commercial intent: things are always shaped in some way, and this is also an “art of context.”

These are the “quicksands” of the title, into which the artist invites the viewer to venture. John M Armleder’s installation crystallizes the preoccupations of an artistic career extending from the late 1960s to the present: the metaphor of the museum as a repository for the fragmentary leavings of artistic practice, the concept of a reservoir of  available forms for the shaping of a new work of art, or an assortment of items offered up by an improbable vendor.       

In the 1970s, Armleder’s work with the Ecart group highlighted this non-distinction between every-day and artistic activity, in the wake of the Fluxus movement. In the 1980s, his Furniture Sculptures (as per Erik Satie’s “furniture music”) stressed this aspect of avant-garde practice and its ultimate fate. In the 1990s his Pour Paintings and murals stressed the ancillary role of the composition in relation to the vagaries of the artistic program. Since the early 2000s, his installations have showcased artistic (or curatorial) endeavours that hark back to the era of the “B movie,” when a set created for one screenplay would become the springboard for another. Today, as we discern the overall purpose and direction of this unique oeuvre, we can look into the heart of the maelstrom of forms, media, new creations and re-workings, gestures, and references and see—as in Edgar Allen Poe’s short story—how its swirling power draws everything in. As if the unblinking “eye” of the vortex was gazing out at us in its turn.      

  • The project has been organized by Lionel Bovier
  • Conceived for MAMCO, the installation has been gifted to the museum by the artist
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

Quicksand 2

Au premier abord, le dispositif conçu par John M Armleder (*1948) pour le Dairy Art Centre de Londres en 2013 et produit dans une nouvelle version pour le MAMCO, se présente comme un stockage de type industriel partiellement rempli d’objets hétéroclites (feuilles de Plexiglass, fleurs artificielles, livres, etc.) et animé de dispositifs sonores et télévisuels. John M Armleder a, semble-t-il, pris plaisir à mélanger des registres mobiliers, artistiques et décoratifs, naturels et artificiels, dans un ensemble qui évoque aussi bien un magasin, qu’un atelier d’artiste ou la réserve d’un musée. Car, les objets réunis tantôt rappellent leur origine commerciale et industrielle, tantôt renvoient à des œuvres dont ils seraient des fragments. 

A l’instar d’installations précédentes de John M Armleder qui empilent porte-bouteilles, moules et luges et convoquent les figures de Marcel Duchamp, Marcel Broodthaers et Joseph Beuys, les objets de Quicksand 2 rappellent en effet ce pouvoir de « transfiguration du banal » qu’Arthur Danto prête à l’art. A l’origine de ce principe de transformation d’un objet quotidien en œuvre, se trouve évidemment la pratique du « readymade » au début du 20e siècle, mais aussi le Pop Art américain des années 1960 et la « commodity sculpture » des années 1980 (avec Jeff Koons, Haim Steinbach et, justement, John M Armleder).

Mais, l’on pourrait tout aussi bien penser aux « Wunderkammer », ces chambres de merveille où les collectionneurs de la Renaissance tardive réunissaient des trésors naturels, scientifiques et artistiques. Car, c’est à ces systèmes de classification que s’attaque, in fine, Armleder : le pouvoir du « display », de l’acte de monstration et d’organisation (aussi chaotique qu’elle soit), nous dit-il, prévaut toujours sur la nature des éléments montrés. C’est dans l’arrangement, la mise en relation et la volonté, quelque illusoire qu’elle puisse être, de faire sens avec des objets que se situe le travail artistique. Rien, en effet, ne peut être considéré comme entièrement original ou reproduit, empreint d’une volonté artistique ou, au contraire, commerciale, sans une mise en forme qui est aussi un art du contexte.

Ce sont là les sables mouvants, comme l’indique le titre de l’œuvre, dans lesquels l’artiste invite les spectateurs à progresser. Métaphore du musée comme conservatoire de fragments de démarches artistiques, image d’un réservoir de formes disponibles pour le façonnage potentiel d’une œuvre, reflet de l’assortiment d’un improbable fournisseur, l’installation de John M Armleder condense les préoccupations d’un artiste actif depuis la fin des années 1960. Dans les années 1970, son travail au sein du groupe Ecart marque la non-distinction entre activités artistiques et quotidiennes, dans le sillage de Fluxus. Dans les années 1980, ses « Furniture Sculptures » (sculptures d’ameublement, au sens d’Erik Satie), marquent le destin mobilier des pratiques d’avant-garde. Dans les années 1990, ses « Pour Paintings » et ses peintures murales affirment le caractère ancillaire de la composition à un programme plus ou moins aléatoire. Dans les années 2000, ses plateformes installatives renvoient tout effort artistique (ou curatorial) à l’horizon de la « série B », où un dispositif prévu pour un scénario donné devient le lieu d’une nouvelle réalisation. Aujourd’hui, alors que nous percevons le mouvement général de cet œuvre singulier, nous pouvons plonger le regard au cœur de ce maelström de formes, de médias, d’inventions et de reprises, de gestes et de références et, comme dans la nouvelle de Poe, nous comprenons que ce vortex entraîne tout dans sa force tourbillonnante. Certains pensent même que le phénomène a un œil ; gageons que, dans ce cas, c’est lui qui nous regarde.

  • Le projet est organisé par Lionel Bovier
  • Conçue pour le MAMCO, l'installation a été offerte au musée par l'artiste
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk