g
h

The “Apartment” is no ordinary exhibition space. Located up on the museum's third floor, it is a reconstruction of the Paris apartment where, from 1975 to 1991, Ghislain Mollet-Viéville worked to promote Minimal and Conceptual art. Calling himself an "art agent," Mollet-Viéville initially organized his living and work space to conform with the protocols of the works in his collection, before deciding to yield to the consequences of their "dematerialization" and move to a new apartment with no visible works. This meant his collection could be entrusted to MAMCO when it opened, in 1994. In 2016, the museum has begun to acquire a large part of it—the works on view in the following galleries.  

The 25 works from the collection are representative of the work of the first-generation Minimalist artists such as Carl Andre, Donald Judd, and John McCracken, and of their Conceptual counterparts—Joseph Kosuth, Sol LeWitt, and Lawrence Weiner, for example. If the former explore a lexicon of elementary, logical, and radical forms that keep at bay any anthropomorphism and narrative features, the latter mainly offer protocols for execution, turning the collector into an agent on whom the works' material existence depends. Both have dispensed with pedestals, frames, lighting, and all other mise-en-scène props, in favor of an immediate intellectual and sensory experience. 

Compared with MAMCO's other galleries, the “Apartment” sets the works the challenge of a domestic setting. For visitors this means the opportunity to experience them on more intimate terms, in a space where they are invited to step outside the conventions, whether attending a lecture, a special event, or simply pausing to read and to linger a while in the company of works that have been talking among themselves for several decades now.

  • The Apartment was acquired by the Fondation MAMCO in 2016–2017 thanks to the great generosity of: Antonie and Philippe Bertherat, Pierre Darier, and Fondation de Famille Sandoz; the support of: Ronald Asmar and Romain Jordan, FAMSA Foundation, Fondation Gandur pour l’Art, a private foundation in Geneva, Aline and Christian Gauduel, Bénédict G.F. Hentsch, Zaza and Philippe Jabre, Christina and Pierre de Labouchere, Pierre Mirabaud, MKS (Switzerland) SA, Iman and Jacques de Saussure; and the participation of: MAMCO’s Friends Association, especially: Lionel Aeschlimann, Marc Blondeau, Catherine Orci-Darier, and Della Tamari
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

Au troisième étage du musée, L’Appartement est un espace d’exposition singulier : il s’agit de la reconstitution du logement de Ghislain Mollet-Viéville qui, de 1975 à 1991, au 26 de la rue Beaubourg à Paris déployait une activité de promotion de l’art minimal et conceptuel. Se définissant comme « agent d’art », Mollet-Viéville a d’abord organisé son espace de vie et de travail selon les protocoles des œuvres de sa collection avant de décider d’assumer la pleine conséquence de la « dématérialisation » de cet art en s’installant dans un nouvel appartement sans aucune œuvre visible. Sa collection a donc pu être déposée au MAMCO dès son ouverture et, en 2016, le musée a engagé l’acquisition d’une importante partie de cette collection, soit les œuvres présentées dans les salles qui suivent.

Cet ensemble de 25 œuvres est représentatif du travail de la première génération d’artistes minimalistes – tels que Carl Andre, Donald Judd ou John McCracken – et conceptuels – tels que Joseph Kosuth, Sol LeWitt ou Lawrence Weiner. Les premiers explorent un lexique de formes élémentaires, logiques et radicales qui tiennent à distance tout anthropomorphisme et toute narrativité. Les seconds proposent principalement des protocoles de réalisation, faisant du collectionneur un véritable agent dont dépend l’éventuelle existence matérielle des œuvres. Toutes ces pièces intègrent dans leur conception leurs modes de présentation : elles se dispensent de tout socle, cadre, éclairage et autre instrument de mise en scène de l’art au profit d’une expérience intellectuelle et sensible immédiate.

En regard des autres salles du MAMCO, L’Appartement met les œuvres à l’épreuve d’une insertion dans un univers domestique. Le visiteur peut ainsi faire l’expérience d’un rapport plus intime avec ces travaux, dans un lieu qu’il est aussi invité à investir différemment des autres salles : que ce soit lors d’évènements ou rencontres, ou simplement en s’arrêtant pour un temps de lecture. C’est l’expérience d’un temps plus long avec des œuvres qui dialoguent entre elles depuis maintenant plusieurs décennies. 

  • L’Appartement a été acquis par la Fondation MAMCO en 2016–2017, grâce à la grande générosité de: Antonie et Philippe Bertherat, Pierre Darier et la Fondation de Famille Sandoz; au soutien de: Ronald Asmar et Romain Jordan, FAMSA Foundation, la Fondation Gandur pour l’Art, une fondation privée genevoise, Aline et Christian Gauduel, Bénédict G.F. Hentsch, Zaza et Philippe Jabre, Christina et Pierre de Labouchere, Pierre Mirabaud, MKS (Switzerland) SA, Iman et Jacques de Saussure; ainsi qu’à la participation des Amis du MAMCO, et tout particulièrement de Lionel Aeschlimann, Marc Blondeau, Catherine Orci-Darier et Della Tamari
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk