g
h

Inventaire

In September 1978, Marcia Hafif published in the American magazine Artforum an article, entitled “Beginning Again” in which she analyzed the context of her return to painting six years before. Her pictorial career really took off when she was based in Rome between 1961 and 1969, during which she explored programmatically a form of abstraction.* Then followed a conceptual Californian parenthesis in which the media of photography and video acted as her preferred ways of working. 

In 1972, after moving to New York, Marcia Hafif started by drawing series of vertical parallel lines, beginning in the upper left corner of the sheet, until the page had been covered by similar lines. She then reproduced the same process on variously formatted canvases, with the “undeniable elements of painting ... canvas, paint, the tool for applying the paint and the artist’s hand ... [to] ... cover the surface of the canvas with paint, no more, no less ... The strokes of the brush are developed according to the qualities of the pigment.” Initially, she used just one pigment at a time, focusing on the fundamental aspects of monochrome painting, developing the questions raised during the early years of the 20th century by the European avant- gardes and American painting currents after the Second World War. 

After having studied and presented over a long time the works produced during her years in Rome, MAMCO was extending its reflections about Marcia Hafif’s painted oeuvre by showing a selection of drawings and canvases produced as early as 1972 and belonging to the corpus which the artist has entitled “the Inventory.” 


*Her Rome period was marked by the production of 210 paintings, half of which survive, and 250 drawings and collages listed in the catalogue raisonné of this period by MAMCO in 2010.

  • An exhibition organized by Lionel Bovier and Sophie Costes
MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk

g
h

Inventaire

En septembre 1978 Marcia Hafif signe dans le magazine américain Artforum l’article
« Beginning again » dans lequel elle analyse le contexte de son retour à la peinture six ans auparavant. Sa carrière picturale s’affirme véritablement lors de son installation à Rome de 1961 à 1969 lorsqu’elle explore de façon programmatique une forme d’abstraction*. Suivra une parenthèse californienne conceptuelle où le médium photographique et la vidéo interviendront comme modes opératoires privilégiés. 

En 1972, après son installation à New York, Marcia Hafif commence par dessiner des successions de lignes parallèles verticales débutées dans le coin supérieur gauche de la feuille jusqu’à ce que la page soit couverte de lignes semblables. Elle reproduit par la suite le processus sur des toiles de format variables avec « les éléments indéniables de la peinture... la toile, la peinture, l’outil d’application de la peinture et la main de l’artiste... [pour]... couvrir le dessus de la toile avec de la peinture, pas plus, pas moins... Les coups de pinceau se développent selon les qualités du pigment ». Elle n’utilise dans un premier temps qu’un pigment à la fois se concentrant sur les aspects fondamentaux de la pratique du monochrome, développant les questions posées pendant les premières années du 20e siècle par les avant-gardes européennes et les courants picturaux américains de l’après-guerre. 

Après avoir étudié et longuement présenté les œuvres produites pendant les années romaines, le MAMCO prolonge sa réflexion sur l’œuvre peint de Marcia Hafif en montrant une sélection de dessins et de peintures réalisés dès 1972 et appartenant au corpus baptisé «Inventaire» par l’artiste. 


La période romaine est marquée par la production de 210 peintures, dont subsiste la moitié et 250 dessins et collages recensés dans le catalogue raisonné de la période publié par le MAMCO en 2010 .

  • Exposition organisée par Lionel Bovier et Sophie Costes
LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveFondation de Famille SandozJTIMirabaud & Cie SA
ghfk