MAMCO Journal

MAMCO provides a narrative, extended over a fairly short period (from the 1960s to now), so as to give back an historical syntax to the works it presents. For each sequence, there is a corresponding issue or theoretical question which the museum, as a laboratory for the collective writing of history, aims to explore and then reveal to the public the current state of its research. MAMCO Journal aims at presenting the topics we have selected through the year, the concepts that were elaborated during the preparation of the exhibitions, and the results that have (or have not) been presented to the public. It is published twice a year and is available here in a PDF format to download. To freely receive the printed version, please contact chloe.gouedard(at)mamco.ch.

N°10

In 1965, British science-fiction author Brian Aldiss published Earthworks, a dystopian novel set in a world of environmental catastrophe and extreme socioeconomic inequality where the population lives under a police state, where wealthy “Farmers” run rural labor camps, and where “Travellers” who have broken free of social controls are ruthlessly hunted down. Two years later, the artist Robert Smithson embarked on a trip through the post-industrial landscape of New Jersey, reading Earthworks on a bus to Passaic. The fact that Smithson referenced the title of Aldiss’ novel prominently in one of his publications emphasizes the extent to which the artist’s work—infused with his ideas on entropy and his rejection of modernism—sets up a new kind of relationship with the environment, with history, and with time. 

In 1968, the Dwan Gallery in New York hosted a show entitled Earthworks, which featured pieces by Smithson (who was one of the minds behind the event) alongside a number of other artists: Carl Andre, Herbert Bayer, Walter De Maria, Michael Heizer, Stephen Kaltenbach, Sol LeWitt, Claes Oldenburg, and Dennis Oppenheim. This exhibition marked the first formal recognition among art critics of what would come to be known as Land art. The Earth Art exhibition, organized the following year by Willoughby Sharp at Cornell University, was another example of an emerging trend that saw Minimalist, Conceptual, performance, and Body artists thrown together under the same banner. They were a new generation for whom art was to be created with and within the landscape.

This banner covered artists with very different—even opposing—sensitivities, from Hamish Fulton and Richard Long, who seemingly sought to revive the “picturesque” tradition of the late 18th and early 19th centuries, to Michael Heizer and Robert Morris, who chose deserts and landscapes wrecked by human activity as the backdrop for their interventions.

As if presaging Spiral Jetty, Smithson’s famous creation on the shore of the Great Salt Lake in Utah in April 1970, Laura Grisi’s film The Measuring of Time (1969) portrays her counting grains of sand on a beach as the camera moves around her in a spiral motion. And while Smithson set up a dialectic between his outdoor interventions (“sites”) and the pieces he showed in art venues (“non-sites”), Grisi’s works in the late 1960s simulated natural phenomena such as fog, wind, and rain in galleries. 

Grisi’s desire to “reinvent” nature in exhibition spaces bears many similarities to the Ricostruzione della natura (Reconstruction of Nature) series by Pino Pascali, who is often associated with the Arte Povera movement. Around the same period, Piero Gilardi was making his first Tappeto-Natura (Nature Carpet) pieces: cut and painted polyurethane rugs that depict fragments of nature. 

Other artists had more overtly political aims. For instance, Judy Chicago’s Atmospheres—a series of videos featuring naked women and colored smoke in natural settings—were, according to the artist herself, “intended to transform and soften the landscape, introducing a feminine impulse into the environment.”

Through their respective forms of expression, these artists adopted a fresh approach, breaking from the joyful exuberance of Pop art and the celebration of consumer society that had prevailed just a few years earlier. And they signaled the emergence of a new generation with “environmentalist” sensibilities. 

While concepts such as “biosphere” and “ecosystem” have been around since before the Second World War, the publication of the 1972 report Limits to Growth, commissioned by the Club of Rome and prepared by Dennis Meadows, sparked a dawning realization of the effects of human activity on the planet. From that point onward, the dangers of the Anthropocene (the geological age corresponding to the appearance of humans on Earth and their impact on the planet’s ecosystems) have been widely acknowledged, although individual and political responses remain extremely piecemeal and uneven. 

The summer of 2022 will surely go down in history as the point at which climate-related fears became embedded in people’s minds and in the media discourse. It could be argued, however, that artists (and science-fiction authors) started the grieving process for our changing environment some 50 years ago—accepting the loss, symbolically circumscribing it, and attempting to rebuild in its wake.



Eté 2022

Our summer exhibition program is conceived as an innovative modus operandi . Based on the concept of an annual “rendez-vous,” borrowed from the world of magazines or biennales, the aim is to bring together diverse practices connected in apparence by nothing but the fascination they exert on us. 

Around the artists invited this year— Douglas Abdell, Stéphanie Cherpin, Jeremy Deller, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Tobias Kaspar, Seob Kim, and Julia Wachtel—talks, performances, and events are programmed throughout the summer (see the last page of this publication). Open from Thursday to Sunday, the museum also sets itself on summer time, welcoming you from 5 to 10 pm, after work ... or sun, on free access. été 2022 represents a new way of thinking about our collection (and how it grows, is exhibited, and communicated), a chance to experiment with the concept of the museum as a place of “experiences,” and to re-think ways to showcase new talent, support and collaborate with artists across a broader timescale than that of the “simple” exhibition. 

It is of course no accident that this new work method coincides with our planned renovation of the MAMCO building, in association with the City of Geneva: we are preparing for the future by redefining and experimenting with the future outlines of the museum, once it will have secured the setting and means it deserves.


N°9

Now that an ambitious renovation plan has been selected, MAMCO is moving on to the next stage in its development. We will use the next few years before construction begins to make detailed projections for features and functions that are currently missing from the museum and its building, such as a gathering space, outreach facilities, and galleries to display large-scale works and free exhibitions.

We also plan to reflect together on current issues in the museum world. After all, museums today are under pressure not only from those who would enlist them in their cultural battles or turn them into cultural commodities, but also from techno-utopians who see digitalization as the solution to all future challenges.

But first and foremost, we want to take advantage of this transformation to reaffirm MAMCO as a museum of contemporary and modern art. For us, it is no longer a question of showing what contemporary art owes to modernism so much as what modernism can teach us about contemporary art.

We must not forget that before museums started struggling to compete with entertainment figures—or, according to the ICOM’s failed attempt at redefinition in 2019, to become “democratizing, inclusive, and polyphonic spaces”—they were places of learning. In that sense, museums have more in common with universities and laboratories than with the entertainment and tourism industry, although they provide knowledge to the public without speaking down to them or discriminating based on academic status. Rather than encouraging visitors to interact or participate in some form of simulation, museums promote a form of agency by providing visitors not only with the results of research but its context and tools, in complete transparency.

History has two enemies: amnesia (along with its politically weaponized form, populism) and fetishization of the past. After all, the study of history can reveal narratives that make market simplifications and the establishment of a canon untenable. Those are precisely the types of narratives to which we intend to contribute. This season’s contributions spring from two different starting points but converge upon a formative modernist motif, as identified by Rosalind Krauss in 1979—the grid.

First, the Verena Loewensberg retrospective and Geraldo de Barros exhibition reveal how a modern vocabulary established in the early 20th century postulated the creation of a universal language akin to science and music that could be applied to all forms of creation.

Second, exhibitions of post-minimalist works from the 1960s by Jackie Winsor and Jo Baer show how, like many other women artists, they worked with geometric forms and repetition to develop their own practice by making use of a “rectilinear framework primarily to contradict it,” as Lucy Lippard observed.

This convergence upon a system of geometric coordinates originating in the rational principles central to Western thought would prove to be a launchpad for radical shifts, liberations, ruptures, and deviations—all in all, a fairly good definition of the artistic practices of today. By exploring and challenging the grid, these artists invite us to do the same in all disciplines where it appears, be it in the form of graphs, tables, or programs that are taken to be undisputable facts when they should be seen as interpretive frameworks.


MAMCO WOULD LIKE TO THANK OUR MULTI-YEAR PARTNERS
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk

MAMCO Journal

Le MAMCO propose, par un récit se déroulant sur une temporalité assez courte (de la décennie 1960 à nos jours), de redonner une syntaxe historique aux œuvres présentées. A chaque séquence d’expositions correspond ainsi une problématique ou une question théorique que le musée, en tant que laboratoire d’écriture collective de l’histoire, s’attache à explorer et dont il présente au public l’état de sa recherche. Le MAMCO Journal entend restituer les sujets de réflexion que nous nous sommes donnés, les concepts élaborés lors de la préparation des expositions et les résultats présentés (ou non) au public. Il est édité semestriellement et est disponible ici en format numérique. Pour le recevoir à votre domicile, contactez chloe.gouedard(at)mamco.ch.

N°10

En 1965, l’auteur de science-fiction britannique Brian Aldiss publie Earthworks. Dans ce roman d’anticipation post-apocalyptique, les catastrophes environnementales et les extrêmes inégalités socio-économiques ont abouti à la construction d’un état policier dans lequel de riches « fermiers » exploitent la population dans des « camps ruraux » – et où tout « voyageur » qui se serait soustrait à leur autorité est inexorablement traqué. Deux ans plus tard, Robert Smithson commence son voyage à travers le paysage post-industriel du New Jersey en lisant le livre d’Aldiss dans le bus qui le conduit à Passaic. Le placement de cette référence littéraire en exergue de l’une de ses publications artistiques, rappelle à quel point sa démarche, connue pour ses réflexions sur l’entropie et pour sa critique du modernisme, formule une relation inédite aussi bien à l’environnement qu’à l’histoire et au temps. 

C’est sous le même titre de Earthworks que s’ouvre, en 1968, une exposition (dont Smithson fut l’un des initiateurs) à la Dwan Gallery de New York : réunissant Carl Andre, Herbert Bayer, Walter De Maria, Michael Heizer, Stephen Kaltenbach, Sol LeWitt, Claes Oldenburg, Dennis Oppenheim et Smithson lui-même, elle marque la première reconnaissance critique de ce qui sera ensuite plus communément appelé le « Land Art ». Tout comme dans Earth Art, organisée par Willoughby Sharp au musée du Cornell University en 1969, les artistes de l’art minimal et conceptuel, de la performance et du Body Art se trouvent mêlés à une nouvelle génération de créateurs pour qui l’art se fait désormais dans et avec le « paysage ».

Pour autant, entre le renouvellement de la tradition du « picturesque » de la fin du 18e et du début du 19e siècles que semblent rechercher Hamish Fulton et Richard Long et les interventions sur des sites désertiques ou abîmés par l’homme que proposent Michael Heizer ou Robert Morris, cette appellation recouvre des sensibilités artistiques différentes – voire opposées.

Comme en réponse prémonitoire à la fameuse Spiral Jetty que Smithson édifie sur un lac salé de l’Utah en avril 1970, le film de Laura Grisi The Measuring of Time (1969) la montre, dans un mouvement de caméra en spirale, comptant des grains de sable sur une plage… Et, tandis que Smithson élabore une dialectique entre ses interventions sur sites et ce qu’il présente dans les espaces de l’art (non-sites), Grisi crée, à la fin des années 1960, des environnements qui reproduisent des phénomènes naturels tels que le brouillard, le vent ou la pluie. 

Cette volonté de « ré-inventer » la nature au sein de galeries et d’expositions la rapproche des Ricostruzione della natura de Pino Pascali, artiste souvent associé à l’Arte Povera. Au même moment, Piero Gilardi réalise ses premiers « Tapis-Nature », versions synthétiques (en mousse de polyuréthane sculptée et peinte) du naturel.

D’autres artistes ont des ambitions plus directement politiques, à l’instar de Judy Chicago dont les vidéos « d’atmosphères », confrontant des corps nus féminins et des fumées colorées à des contextes naturels, visaient, selon elle, à « transformer et adoucir le paysage, introduisant une impulsion féminine dans l’environnement ».

Autant de formulations différentes d’une nouvelle approche, générationnelle, d’un rapport au monde qui tranche avec l’explosion joyeuse du Pop Art et de la célébration de la société de consommation quelques années auparavant : l’émergence d’un sentiment « environnementaliste ». 

Si les notions de biosphère et d’écosystème datent d’avant-guerre, c’est en effet autour de 1972 et de la diffusion du rapport Meadows (« Les limites de la croissance ») commandé par le Club de Rome, que la prise de conscience des conséquences de l'activité de l'homme sur son environnement s'est accélérée. Ce que d’aucuns ont qualifié d’entrée dans l’anthropocène (l’ère de l’humain et de son influence sur les écosystèmes à l’échelle de l’histoire de la Terre), ne cessera, dès lors, d’être vu comme une menace – même si les réponses politiques ou individuelles à celle-ci restent très discontinues et fortement inégales. 

Alors que l’été 2022 marquera sans doute un moment historique de cristallisation collective et médiatique des peurs autour des changements climatiques, les artistes (et les auteurs de science-fiction) avaient peut-être déjà entamé, il y 50 ans, un travail de deuil face à cette transformation de notre habitat – c’est-à-dire de reconnaissance de la perte, de délimitation symbolique de celle-ci et de tentatives de reconstruction.

Eté 2022

Avec notre programme d’été, nous voulons inventer un nouveau mode opératoire pour le musée : basé sur l’idée d’un rendez-vous annuel, comme pourrait l’offrir un magazine ou une biennale, il s’agit de proposer une rencontre avec plusieurs pratiques que rien ne relie en apparence, sinon l’intérêt que nous leur portons.

Autour des artistes invités cette année –Douglas Abdell, Stéphanie Cherpin, Jeremy Deller, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Tobias Kaspar, Seob Kim et Julia Wachtel –, des formats extensifs viennent ponctuer l’été de rendez-vous dont l’agenda en dernière page se fait porteur. Ouvert du jeudi au dimanche, le musée se met en outre à l’heure d’été en vous proposant de le visiter entre17 et 22 heures, soit après le travail...ou la plage – en accès libre.

« été 2022 » est une autre façon de nous inciter à réfléchir sur notre collection (comment elle se construit, s’expose et se communique), de se poser la question du musée comme « fabrique d’expériences »et de repenser la question de l’émergence, du soutien et de la collaboration avec des artistes sur une période qui dépasse celle de la simple « exposition ».

Que cette méthode de travail survienne alors que nous planifions avec la Ville de Genève la rénovation du bâtiment qui abrite le MAMCO n’est bien entendu pas une coïncidence : il s’agit de préparer le futur en expérimentant, de dessiner les contours du musée lorsque celui-ci disposera du cadre et des moyens qu’il mérite.

N°9

Avec le choix d’un projet architectural ambitieux pour sa rénovation, le MAMCO aborde une nouvelle phase de son développement. Pendant les années qui nous séparent encore des travaux, nous entendons ainsi mener plusieurs initiatives de préfiguration des fonctionnalités qui font aujourd’hui défaut au bâtiment et au musée : lieu de convivialité, espace de médiation et exposition d’œuvres de grand format et en accès libre. 

Nous mènerons également une réflexion collective sur les débats qui animent aujourd’hui le domaine muséal, dont les missions fondamentales subissent la pression conjointe de politiques d’instrumentalisation sociale, de modèles issus de l’industrie culturelle et de futurologues qui veulent voir dans les outils de digitalisation la panacée à tous les défis qui l’attendent. 

Mais, nous voulons surtout en profiter pour affirmer que le MAMCO peut devenir, dans la perspective de ce nouveau bâtiment, un musée d’art contemporain et moderne. Il ne s’agit en effet plus tant de montrer ce que le contemporain doit à la période moderne, que de souligner ce que le moderne peut nous apprendre sur le contemporain. 

Il faut se souvenir qu’avant d’être une structure patrimoniale se débattant avec des figures du divertissement ou (selon la tentative avortée de redéfinition de l’ICOM en 2019) un instrument de « démocratisation inclusif et polyphonique », le musée est un lieu de recherche. En ce sens, il a plus à voir avec l’université ou le laboratoire que le domaine des loisirs ou du tourisme – n’était-ce qu’il présente ses réflexions aux publics sans discrimination académique ni vulgarisation. Et, plutôt que de proposer des interactions ou des formes de participation sur le mode de la simulation, il entend promouvoir une forme « d’actionnalité » (agency) du visiteur, en livrant non seulement les résultats mais également le contexte de sa recherche, en toute transparence de ses outils.

L’histoire a deux ennemis : l’amnésie (et son bras armé politique, le populisme) et le fétichisme du passé. Car l’histoire permet de faire émerger des récits qui rendent les simplifications du marché aussi bien que l’édification d’un canon intenables. C’est précisément à l’écriture de tels récits que nous entendons contribuer. Ceux de cette saison partent de deux points différents et se rencontrent autour d’un motif structurant pour le modernisme, comme le soulignait Rosalind Krauss en 1979 : la grille. 

D’un côté, avec la rétrospective consacrée à Verena Loewensberg, mais aussi au projet consacré à Geraldo de Barros, l’on suit la façon dont un vocabulaire moderne, établi au début du 20e siècle, postule la création d’un langage universel, à l’instar de la science ou de la musique, et qui peut s’appliquer à tous les domaines de la création. 

De l’autre, avec les expositions consacrées à Jackie Winsor et Jo Baer, comme beaucoup d’autres « artistes femmes travaillant avec la géométrie et la répétition », ainsi que le formule Lucy Lippard, l’on observe comment, dans le moment post-minimal des années 1960, elles « arrivent à leurs propres pratiques en utilisant un cadre orthonormé pour mieux le contredire ». 

Cette convergence autour d’un système de coordonnées géométriques, dont la constitution remonte aux principes de rationalité de la culture occidentale, est le point à partir duquel se construisent des basculements, des libérations, des éclatements ou des divergences – soit ce qui nous apparait comme une bonne définition des pratiques artistiques de notre temps. Et l’exploration et la contestation de ce motif par des artistes devraient nous inviter à en faire de même pour l’ensemble de ses domaines d’application et de ses apparitions sous forme de graphes, de tableaux et de programmations qui continuent à s’imposer comme des faits plutôt que des systèmes interprétatifs.


LE MAMCO TIENT À REMERCIER SES PARTENAIRES
FONDATION MAMCOÉtat de GenèveVille de GenèveJTIFondation LeenaardsFondation genevoise de bienfaisance Valeria Rossi di Montelera
ghfk